How many railroad crossings are in Minnesota?
The FRA inventory of 21 October 2026 lists 4,181 public railroad crossings in Minnesota. 34% have gates, and 306 incidents were reported since 2016.
FRA inventory of . Sources and dates. For reporters- Public crossings
- 4,181
- Public crossings with gates
- 34%
- Incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 306
- Public crossings with signs only
- 2,445
Members only. Sign in or create a free account.
All crossings in Minnesota, public and private.
Browse the listThe map counts public and private crossings; the totals above count public crossings only. Use the legend to compare the number of crossings in each area.
Crossings
4,181 public crossings are listed in Minnesota.
The map shades each area by how many crossings it holds.
Warning devices
58% of public crossings in Minnesota have signs only, with no lights or gates.
The map shows the share of crossings with signs only in each area.
Train traffic
The largest group of Minnesota crossings sees 1–4 trains a day.
The map shows the median number of trains a day in each area.
How Minnesota's public crossings are equipped and used.
Most crossings in Minnesota have signs but no lights or gates.
| Warning device | Crossings |
|---|---|
| Gates | 1,433 |
| Flashing lights | 237 |
| Signs only | 2,445 |
| Other or not reported | 66 |
306 incidents have been reported in Minnesota since 2016.
| Group | Incidents (Incidents) |
|---|---|
| 2016 | 27 |
| 2017 | 34 |
| 2018 | 34 |
| 2019 | 37 |
| 2020 | 30 |
| 2021 | 28 |
| 2022 | 30 |
| 2023 | 29 |
| 2024 | 20 |
| 2025 | 19 |
| 2026 (partial) | 18 |
The largest group of Minnesota crossings sees 1–4 trains a day.
| Group | Crossings (Crossings) |
|---|---|
| 0 | 606 |
| 1–4 | 1,892 |
| 5–9 | 1,028 |
| 10–19 | 293 |
| 20–39 | 358 |
| 40+ | 4 |
| Not reported | 0 |
Hennepin has more public crossings than any other county in Minnesota.
| County | Crossings (Crossings) |
|---|---|
| Hennepin | 244 |
| St Louis | 222 |
| Polk | 179 |
| Ramsey | 138 |
| Marshall | 133 |
| Clay | 116 |
| Dakota | 114 |
| Otter Tail | 112 |
| Faribault | 101 |
| Freeborn | 96 |
Show all 81 counties
Hennepin 244, St Louis 222, Polk 179, Ramsey 138, Marshall 133, Clay 116, Dakota 114, Otter Tail 112, Faribault 101, Freeborn 96, Kittson 86, Steele 80, Renville 77, Winona 74, Wilkin 70, Martin 67, Wright 65, Pine 64, Lyon 63, Roseau 62, Swift 61, Mower 59, Scott 59, Stearns 59, Lac Qui Parle 55, Yellow Medicine 54, Brown 52, Olmsted 51, Blue Earth 49, Washington 49, Itasca 47, Morrison 47, Becker 46, Carlton 46, Rice 45, Kandiyohi 44, Rock 44, Sibley 44, Nobles 42, Chippewa 41, Pipestone 41, Grant 40, Stevens 39, Big Stone 38, Redwood 38, Watonwan 37, Anoka 35, Douglas 35, Pennington 35, Sherburne 34, Carver 32, Cass 32, Pope 32, Waseca 30, Aitkin 29, Crow Wing 27, Jackson 27, Lake 27, Meeker 27, Isanti 26, Lake Of The Woods 26, Le Sueur 26, Mcleod 26, Red Lake 26, Lincoln 24, Mahnomen 22, Chisago 21, Cottonwood 21, Dodge 21, Goodhue 19, Benton 18, Beltrami 17, Clearwater 17, Todd 15, Koochiching 14, Wadena 13, Wabasha 12, Houston 7, Traverse 7, Hubbard 6, Kanabec 5.
The federal inventory for Minnesota lists 6,367 crossing records, including 6,362 with usable map locations. The record list below includes public and private crossings.
Record coverage
Each measure covers all 6,367 records in this state. Missing information remains in the directory.
- Usable map locations
- 6,362 of 6,367 records5 records have missing information.
- Reported road counts
- 5,151 of 6,367 records1,216 records have missing information.
- Complete train counts
- 6,367 of 6,367 recordsEvery record has this information.
A complete train total requires valid daytime, nighttime and switching counts. Learn what reported train counts mean.
Counties and cities in Minnesota
Cities
- Minneapolis81 public crossings
- St Paul70 public crossings
- Duluth63 public crossings
- Crookston55 public crossings
- Winona47 public crossings
- Owatonna46 public crossings
- Moorhead38 public crossings
- Rochester35 public crossings
- Albert Lea33 public crossings
- Hibbing30 public crossings
- Little Falls30 public crossings
- Austin28 public crossings
All 428 cities with a page, A to Z
A
B
- Babbitt
- Badger
- Bagley
- Balaton
- Barnesville
- Barrett
- Barry
- Baudette
- Baxter
- Bayport
- Beardsley
- Beaver Creek
- Becker
- Bejou
- Belgrade
- Belle Plaine
- Bellingham
- Beltrami
- Belview
- Bemidji
- Bena
- Benson
- Bethel
- Big Lake
- Bigelow
- Bingham Lake
- Bird Island
- Blooming Prairie
- Bloomington
- Blue Earth
- Bluffton
- Boyd
- Braham
- Brainerd
- Breckenridge
- Brewster
- Bricelyn
- Brook Park
- Brooklyn Park
- Brooks
- Brookston
- Brooten
- Brownsville
- Brownton
- Bruno
- Buffalo
- Buffalo Lake
- Burnsville
- Butterfield
- Byron
C
D
E
F
G
H
L
M
N
R
S
- Sabin
- Sacred Heart
- Sanborn
- Sandstone
- Sartell
- Sauk Rapids
- Savage
- Scandia
- Sedan
- Shakopee
- Sherburn
- Shevlin
- Shoreview
- Silver Bay
- Sleepy Eye
- Solway
- South Haven
- South St Paul
- Springfield
- St Charles
- St Cloud
- St Hilaire
- St James
- St Louis Park
- St Paul
- St Paul Park
- St Peter
- St Vincent
- Staples
- Stephen
- Stewart
- Stillwater
- Stockton
- Strandquist
- Strathcona
Counties
- Hennepin County244 public crossings
- St Louis County222 public crossings
- Polk County179 public crossings
- Ramsey County138 public crossings
- Marshall County133 public crossings
- Clay County116 public crossings
- Dakota County114 public crossings
- Otter Tail County112 public crossings
- Faribault County101 public crossings
- Freeborn County96 public crossings
- Kittson County86 public crossings
- Steele County80 public crossings
All 81 counties with a page, A to Z
C
S
W
All 6,367 crossings in Minnesota, public and private
Records 1–100 of 6,367
- Crossing 001700KPrivateBaudetteRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 001706BPrivateBaudette1 vehicle a day, counted 1976, 50 years old.
- Crossing 001708P12th St NWWilliams43 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 001713LBirch Dr NWarroad79 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 001714TFarm DriveWarroad1 vehicle a day, counted 1976, 50 years old.
- Crossing 001717NPrivate RoadWilliams1 vehicle a day, counted 1981, 45 years old.
- Crossing 041177EPrivateUlenRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 060916BPvt XingMorrisRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 060917H450th AveMorris27 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060918PPvt XingMorrisRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 060919WCo Rd 64Hancock36 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060920RPvt XingHancockRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 060921XPvt XingHancockRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 060922E6th StHancock1,364 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 060923LCR-53Hancock226 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 060924TPvt XingHancockRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 060926GTr 12Hancock37 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060966ECsah 1Beardsley283 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 060967L850th AveBeardsley3 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060968T840th AveBeardsley35 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 060969A830th AveBeardsley11 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060970U820th AveBarry11 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060971BCR-59Barry30 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 060972HPrivateBarryRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 060973P800th AveBarry3 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060974WParnell StBarry212 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 060975D790th AveBarry416 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060976KKeystone StBarry3 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060977S780th AveBarry16 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060978Y770th AveBarry20 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 060982NHwy 13Graceville217 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 060983VW 4th StGraceville416 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060986RW 2nd StGraceville416 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060988EPrivateGracevilleRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 060989LPrivateGracevilleRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 060990F710th AveGraceville3 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060991MPrivateGracevilleRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 060992U700th AveGraceville3 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060993B690th AveJohnson15 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 060994HPrivateJohnson55 vehicles a day, counted 1988, 38 years old.
- Crossing 060995P670th AveJohnson416 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060996W4th AveJohnson263 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 060997D650th AveJohnson3 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 060998KPrivateJohnsonRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061001Y640th AveJohnson13 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061002F630th AveChokio124 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061003MCR-15Chokio16 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061004U4th St WChokio416 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061005BN Main StChokio778 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061007PCo Rd 13Chokio16 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061008WPrivateChokioRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061009DPrivateChokioRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061010X580th AveChokio27 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061011E570th AveAlberta38 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061012L560th AveAlberta18 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061013TPrivateAlbertaRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061014APrivateAlbertaRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061015GNeuman StAlberta416 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061016NMain StAlberta319 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061033EOakland RdMinnetonka2,550 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061035TCrosby RdMinnetonka1,600 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061037GE Circle DrWayzata7,596 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061038NPrivateWayzata1 vehicle a day, counted 2020, 6 years old.
- Crossing 061039VBarry AveWayzata1,049 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061040PFerndale RdWayzata6,583 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061051CBudd StMaple Plain2,593 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061054XCounty RoadIndependence1,165 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061055EPrivateIndependenceRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061062PPrivateIndependenceRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061063WPrivateIndependenceRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061064DGabler AveIndependence6,010 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061068F3rd StAtwater416 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061070GPrivateAtwaterRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061071NCounty Road 4Atwater691 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061073C135th StreetKandiyohi84 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061075R120th St NEKandiyohi61 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061076XPrivateKandiyohiRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061077EPrivateKandiyohiRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061078L98th StreetKandiyohi24 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061079T4th StKandiyohi1,503 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061080M71st St NEKandiyohi38 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061081U60th St NEKandiyohi126 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061082BPrivateWillmarRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061085WPrivateWillmarRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061087KPvt XingWillmarRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061088S19th St NWWillmar1,263 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061089Y30th St SWWillmar7,115 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061090TUsth 12Willmar5,846 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061091ACo Rd 5 WWillmar1,550 vehicles a day, counted 2009, 17 years old.
- Crossing 061096J60th StWillmar54 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061097R67th St NWWillmar62 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061098X75th St SWWillmar344 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061099EAtlantic AvePennock416 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061100W1st StPennock1,313 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061101D105th StPennock416 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061102KPvt XingPennockRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061103S120th St NWPennock103 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
- Crossing 061104Y135th StPennock992 vehicles a day, counted 2019, 7 years old.
- Crossing 061105FPvt XingPennockRoad traffic is not reported.
- Crossing 061106MKandi Swift RdPennock143 vehicles a day, counted 2012, 14 years old.
Sources were checked on . Counts are reported records, not a rating of any crossing. Sources and dates