How many public crossings does Norfolk Southern Railway Company report in South Carolina?
The FRA inventory of lists 781 public railroad crossings in South Carolina with Norfolk Southern Railway Company as the reporting railroad.
- Public crossings
- 781
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 773
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 60%
- Most trains a day reported
- 43
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 171
- Gate share compared with the state
- 9 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Open Norfolk Southern Railway Company in the full map Members
Gates are reported at 60% of these crossings.
- Gates46760%
- Flashing lights without reported gates486%
- Signs without reported gates or lights25833%
- Other or not reported81%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Greenleaf StreetCharleston509 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Blaylock RoadColumbia231 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Derrick RoadSouthern Shops2,014 vehicles a day1085 road count
- Bibendom RoadSouthern Shops911 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Lawson Fork RoadInman201 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Thompson BoulevardUnion6,160 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Southport RoadSpartanburg5,035 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Southport RoadPacolet5,936 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Old Dunbar RoadSpringdale6,936 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Lawson Fork RoadInman447 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Hobart RoadBlythewood704 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Farrow RoadArcadia Lakes3,406 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Milledge RoadGreenville290 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Kitty Hawk RoadGreenville1,373 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Bettis Academy RoadVaucluse2,546 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Industrial AvenueVaucluse171 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Old Vaucluse RoadVaucluse732 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Dobson Shed RoadGreer785 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Commerce DriveRock Hill163 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Sidney StreetSaxon39 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Haven RoadRidgeville250 vehicles a dayRoad count year not reported
- Prosperity DrOrangeburg464 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Watson StTrenton77 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Jonesville HighwayUnion6,900 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Broughton StOrangeburg8,800 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Arco LaneCharleston2,200 vehicles a day2008 road count
- Zenker RoadLexingtonNo road count has been reported.
- Lee StreetLeesvilleNo road count has been reported.
- Industrial Park RoadUnion2,324 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Blassingame StreetUnion1,335 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Augusta Arbor WayMauldin1,683 vehicles a day2013 road count
Report a blocked crossing
Call the number on the blue sign at the crossing first. The sign names the railroad and gives the crossing number.
Norfolk Southern's line for crossing gates, signals and rough crossings: 800-453-2530. Norfolk Southern's 24-hour police line is 800-946-4744.
Contact details on Norfolk Southern's website
Have ready: the street or roadway name, the city and the six-digit DOT crossing number on the sign. Checked on on norfolksouthern.com.
Then tell the Federal Railroad Administration with its blocked crossing reporter. FRA uses the reports only to track where crossings are blocked and what that causes.
If someone needs help right away, call 911. How to report a blocked crossing
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates