How many public crossings does Norfolk Southern Railway Company report in Iowa?
The FRA inventory of lists 19 public railroad crossings in Iowa with Norfolk Southern Railway Company as the reporting railroad.
- Public crossings
- 19
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 16
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 0%
- Most trains a day reported
- 11
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 2
- Gate share compared with the state
- 30 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Open Norfolk Southern Railway Company in the full map Members
Gates are reported at 0% of these crossings.
- Gates00%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights1684%
- Other or not reported316%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- E 4th StreetDes Moines2,190 vehicles a day2016 road count
- SE 18th StreetDes Moines3,170 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Scott Btw 20th22Des Moines700 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Maury StreetDes Moines6,100 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Maury StreetDes Moines6,100 vehicles a day2012 road count
- SE 25th CourtDes Moines950 vehicles a dayRoad count year not reported
- Carlisle RoadDes Moines348 vehicles a day1978 road count
- Vandalia RoadDes Moines4,350 vehicles a day2016 road count
- Scott StreetDes Moines1 vehicle a dayRoad count year not reported
- E 7th StDes Moines2,480 vehicles a day1992 road count
- E 18th StreetDes Moines4,170 vehicles a day2016 road count
- E Market StreetDes Moines1,850 vehicles a day2016 road count
- Maury StreetDes Moines6,100 vehicles a day2012 road count
- SE 43rd StreetDes Moines2,400 vehicles a day1997 road count
- Martin Luther King AvenueDes MoinesNo road count has been reported.
- SE Fifteenth StreetDes MoinesNo road count has been reported.
- SE 21st StreetDes Moines184 vehicles a day1978 road count
- SE 22nd StreetDes MoinesNo road count has been reported.
- SE 25th CourtDes Moines853 vehicles a day1998 road count
Counties with radio frequencies licensed to this railroad
Source: FCC Universal Licensing System, weekly license file, 18 Oct 2026.
Report a blocked crossing
Call the number on the blue sign at the crossing first. The sign names the railroad and gives the crossing number.
Norfolk Southern's line for crossing gates, signals and rough crossings: 800-453-2530. Norfolk Southern's 24-hour police line is 800-946-4744.
Contact details on Norfolk Southern's website
Have ready: the street or roadway name, the city and the six-digit DOT crossing number on the sign. Checked on on norfolksouthern.com.
Then tell the Federal Railroad Administration with its blocked crossing reporter. FRA uses the reports only to track where crossings are blocked and what that causes.
If someone needs help right away, call 911. How to report a blocked crossing
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates