How many public crossings does Norfolk Southern Railway Company report in Delaware?

The FRA inventory of lists 38 public railroad crossings in Delaware with Norfolk Southern Railway Company as the reporting railroad.

Public crossings
38
Public crossings with identified warning devices
34
Public crossings reported with gates
47%
Most trains a day reported
14
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
8
Gate share compared with the state
14 percentage points higher

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 1 in Norfolk Southern Railway Company
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Norfolk Southern Railway Company in the full map Members

Gates are reported at 47% of these crossings.

  • Gates1847%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates1129%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights513%
  • Other or not reported411%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 1 of 1
  1. Christiana AvenueWilmingtonID 530209HGates14 trains a day
    2,050 vehicles a day2013 road count
  2. Lambson LaneWilmingtonID 540892RGates14 trains a day
    1,966 vehicles a day2013 road count
  3. Terminal AvenueWilmingtonID 540894EGates14 trains a day
    6,850 vehicles a day2013 road count
  4. Garasches LaneWilmingtonID 530204YFlashing lights13 trains a day
    2,000 vehicles a day2011 road count
  5. New Castle AvenueWilmingtonID 530208BGates13 trains a day
    5,594 vehicles a day2013 road count
  6. Old Porter RoadBearID 540875AGates13 trains a day
    3,353 vehicles a day2013 road count
  7. Church RoadBearID 540877NGates13 trains a day
    2,610 vehicles a day2013 road count
  8. Bear Corbitt RoadBearID 540879CGates13 trains a day
    13,859 vehicles a day2013 road count
  9. Washington AvenueNew CastleID 540883SGates13 trains a day
    7,295 vehicles a day2013 road count
  10. South StreetNew CastleID 540884YFlashing lights13 trains a day
    1,440 vehicles a day2013 road count
  11. Delaware StreetNew CastleID 540885FFlashing lights13 trains a day
    15,413 vehicles a day2013 road count
  12. Wilmington RoadNew CastleID 540886MFlashing lights13 trains a day
    14,234 vehicles a day2013 road count
  13. Buttonwood AvenueNew CastleID 540887UFlashing lights13 trains a day
    1,440 vehicles a day2013 road count
  14. Lukens DriveNew CastleID 540888BFlashing lights13 trains a day
    No road count has been reported.
  15. Daniel LaneNew CastleID 540889HFlashing lights13 trains a day
    1,440 vehicles a day2013 road count
  16. Cherry LaneNew CastleID 540890CFlashing lights13 trains a day
    5,848 vehicles a day2013 road count
  17. Christiana AvenueWilmingtonID 540895LGates13 trains a day
    2,050 vehicles a day2013 road count
  18. Porter RoadBearID 540868PGates10 trains a day
    8,308 vehicles a day2013 road count
  19. Bear Corbitt RoadBearID 540872EGates9 trains a day
    4,743 vehicles a day2013 road count
  20. School House RoadBearID 540873LOther or not reported9 trains a day
    564 vehicles a day2013 road count
  21. Red Lion RoadBearID 925161CFlashing lights9 trains a day
    4,216 vehicles a day2013 road count
  22. River RoadDelaware CityID 540874TSigns only6 trains a day
    5,723 vehicles a day2013 road count
  23. Terminal AvenueWilmingtonID 593572MGates6 trains a day
    6,850 vehicles a day2013 road count
  24. Beech StreetWilmingtonID 912964WSigns only6 trains a day
    4,205 vehicles a day2013 road count
  25. Farm LaneNewarkID 540856VFlashing lights1 train a day
    178 vehicles a day2013 road count
  26. Chestnut Hill RoadNewarkID 540857CGates1 train a day
    27,629 vehicles a day2013 road count
  27. Old Baltimore PikeNewarkID 540860KGates1 train a day
    15,941 vehicles a day2013 road count
  28. Sunset Lake RoadGlasgowID 540862YGates1 train a day
    18,068 vehicles a day2013 road count
  29. Reybold RoadGlasgowID 540864MGates1 train a day
    6,064 vehicles a day2013 road count
  30. Pulaski HighwayGlasgowID 540867HGates1 train a day
    34,323 vehicles a day2013 road count
  31. Porter RoadBearID 912961BGates1 train a day
    10,764 vehicles a day2013 road count
  32. River RoadNew CastleID 507888RSigns only0 trains a day
    5,769 vehicles a day2013 road count
  33. Lower Linden StreetWilmingtonID 593538FOther or not reported0 trains a day
    2,000 vehicles a day2011 road count
  34. Pigeon Point RoadWilmingtonID 593570YOther or not reported0 trains a day
    4,023 vehicles a day2013 road count
  35. Pidgeon Point RoadWilmingtonID 593571FFlashing lights0 trains a day
    4,023 vehicles a day2013 road count
  36. Hay Road NorthWilmingtonID 913020JSigns only0 trains a day
    736 vehicles a day2013 road count
  37. Hay RoadWilmingtonID 913021RSigns only0 trains a day
    736 vehicles a day2013 road count
  38. Governor Lea RoadDelaware CityID 913032DOther or not reported0 trains a day
    252 vehicles a day2008 road count

Report a blocked crossing

  1. Call the number on the blue sign at the crossing first. The sign names the railroad and gives the crossing number.

  2. Norfolk Southern's line for crossing gates, signals and rough crossings: 800-453-2530. Norfolk Southern's 24-hour police line is 800-946-4744.

    Have ready: the street or roadway name, the city and the six-digit DOT crossing number on the sign. Checked on on norfolksouthern.com.

  3. Then tell the Federal Railroad Administration with its blocked crossing reporter. FRA uses the reports only to track where crossings are blocked and what that causes.

If someone needs help right away, call 911. How to report a blocked crossing

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates