How many railroad crossings are in Smithville, Mississippi?

The FRA inventory of lists 11 public railroad crossings in Smithville, Mississippi.

Public crossings
11
Public crossings with identified warning devices
9
Public crossings reported with gates
0%
Most trains a day reported
2
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
0
Gate share compared with the state
38 percentage points lower

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 1 in Smithville
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Smithville in the full map Members

Make a grant table of these crossings

Gates are reported at 0% of these crossings.

  • Gates00%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates327%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights655%
  • Other or not reported218%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

Which crossings in Smithville, Mississippi have the most trains?

  1. The crossing on Mount Zion reports 2 trains a day.
  2. The crossing on Four Mile Rd reports 2 trains a day.
  3. The crossing on Caldwell Rd reports 2 trains a day.
  4. The crossing on Pecan Orchard reports 2 trains a day.
  5. The crossing on Ms Hwy 25 reports 2 trains a day.

They are on Mount Zion, Four Mile Rd, Caldwell Rd, Pecan Orchard and Ms Hwy 25. None of the 11 public crossings in Smithville, Mississippi has a quiet-zone designation.

Railroad bridges over roads in this city

  • BURLINGTON N RR over US 278

    Vertical clearance under the bridge: 14 ft 2 in (4.34 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.

Clearance is the measured height recorded by the state in the National Bridge Inventory. The sign at the bridge can show a different figure.

Source: FHWA National Bridge Inventory, 2025.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 1 of 1
  1. Mount ZionSmithvilleID 854035KFlashing lights2 trains a day
    321 vehicles a day2002 road count
  2. Four Mile RdSmithvilleID 854036SOther or not reported2 trains a day
    319 vehicles a day1986 road count
  3. Caldwell RdSmithvilleID 854037YFlashing lights2 trains a day
    321 vehicles a day2003 road count
  4. Pecan OrchardSmithvilleID 854038FFlashing lights2 trains a day
    319 vehicles a day1986 road count
  5. Ms Hwy 25SmithvilleID 854041NSigns only2 trains a day
    4,400 vehicles a day1995 road count
  6. Market StSmithvilleID 854042VOther or not reported2 trains a day
    956 vehicles a day1986 road count
  7. Iron Wood Bluff RSmithvilleID 854043CSigns only2 trains a day
    90 vehicles a day1986 road count
  8. Parkview LaneSmithvilleID 910840WSigns only2 trains a day
    1,001 vehicles a day1995 road count
  9. Walnut St.SmithvilleID 910842KSigns only2 trains a day
    250 vehicles a dayRoad count year not reported
  10. S Ironwood BluffSmithvilleID 910845FSigns only2 trains a day
    321 vehicles a day2002 road count
  11. Frances LaneSmithvilleID 910847USigns only2 trains a day
    321 vehicles a day2002 road count

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates