How many railroad crossings are in Jefferson County, Louisiana?

The FRA inventory of lists 112 public railroad crossings in Jefferson County, Louisiana.

Public crossings
112
Public crossings with identified warning devices
98
Public crossings reported with gates
38%
Most trains a day reported
25
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
34
Gate share compared with the state
6 percentage points lower

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 3 in Jefferson County
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Jefferson County in the full map Members

Make a grant table of these crossings

Gates are reported at 38% of these crossings.

  • Gates4238%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates1614%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights4036%
  • Other or not reported1413%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

School-bus routes

3 of 112 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 3 of those are reported as equipped with gates.

  • On a school-bus route33% of public crossings
  • Of those, equipped with gates3100% of route crossings

The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 3 of 3
  1. Mehurin StJeffersonID 464593BOther or not reported0 trains a day
    1 vehicle a day2010 road count
  2. Mehurin StJeffersonID 464596WOther or not reported0 trains a day
    600 vehicles a day2010 road count
  3. Boyce StJeffersonID 464603EOther or not reported0 trains a day
    700 vehicles a day2010 road count
  4. Jefferson HwyJeffersonID 464604LFlashing lights0 trains a day
    29,800 vehicles a day2010 road count
  5. Hill StJeffersonID 464616FSigns only0 trains a day
    300 vehicles a day2010 road count
  6. Bloomfield StJeffersonID 464618USigns only0 trains a day
    1,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
  7. Dakin StJeffersonID 464626LSigns only0 trains a day
    1,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
  8. Peters RdHarveyID 743845VOther or not reported0 trains a day
    17,600 vehicles a day2010 road count
  9. Central AvenueJeffersonID 743908XGates0 trains a day
    11,900 vehicles a day2010 road count
  10. Road not reportedWestwegoID 762939XSigns only0 trains a day
    10,800 vehicles a day1980 road count
  11. Weyer StreetGretnaID 920078JOther or not reported0 trains a day
    1 vehicle a day2020 road count
  12. Evans CooperageGretnaID 920081SOther or not reported0 trains a day
    1 vehicle a day2020 road count

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates