How many railroad crossings are in Gretna, Louisiana?
The FRA inventory of lists 37 public railroad crossings in Gretna, Louisiana.
- Public crossings
- 37
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 32
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 5%
- Most trains a day reported
- 16
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 6
- Gate share compared with the state
- 38 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 5% of these crossings.
- Gates25%
- Flashing lights without reported gates719%
- Signs without reported gates or lights2362%
- Other or not reported514%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Gretna, Louisiana have the most trains?
- The crossing on Hamilton Street reports 16 trains a day.
- The crossing on Ocean Avenue reports 16 trains a day.
- The crossing on Wiedman Street reports 10 trains a day.
- The crossing on Weidman Street reports 3 trains a day.
- The crossing on Virgil Street reports 3 trains a day.
They are on Hamilton Street, Ocean Avenue, Wiedman Street, Weidman Street and Virgil Street. None of the 37 public crossings in Gretna, Louisiana has a quiet-zone designation.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Hamilton StreetGretna4,655 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Ocean AvenueGretna500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Wiedman StreetGretna1,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Weidman StreetGretna2,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Virgil StreetGretna900 vehicles a day2010 road count
- RomainGretna900 vehicles a day2010 road count
- CookGretna1,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
- KeplerGretna5,400 vehicles a day2015 road count
- Stumpf Blvd N BdGretna3,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Wbd Frontage RdGretna15,000 vehicles a day2016 road count
- Marie DriveGretna1,144 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Gretna BlvdGretna8,894 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Whitney Avenue EbdGretna5,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Fairfield AveGretna900 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Wright AvenueGretna4,529 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Terry PrkwyGretna17,281 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Behrman HighwayGretna24,300 vehicles a day2016 road count
- Stumpf BoulevardGretna3,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Ebd Frontage RdGretna33,000 vehicles a day2016 road count
- Whitney Ave WestboundGretna5,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Perry StreetGretna600 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Isbell StreetGretna600 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Burmaster StGretna1,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
- AnsonGretna900 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Americus/Madison StGretna400 vehicles a day2017 road count
- Richard StreetGretna100 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Amelia StreetGretna1,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Lafayette StreetGretna10,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Lavoisier StreetGretna2,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Newton StreetGretna6,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Huey P Long AvenueGretna7,200 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Weyer StreetGretna2,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Derbigny StGretna7,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Dolhonde StreetGretna6,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Newton StGretna50 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Weyer StreetGretna1 vehicle a day2020 road count
- Evans CooperageGretna1 vehicle a day2020 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Gretna? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Louisiana
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates