How many railroad crossings are in Lowndes County, Georgia?
The FRA inventory of lists 115 public railroad crossings in Lowndes County, Georgia.
- Public crossings
- 115
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 114
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 59%
- Most trains a day reported
- 16
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 15
- Gate share compared with the state
- 13 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 59% of these crossings.
- Gates6859%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights4640%
- Other or not reported11%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
School-bus routes
91 of 115 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 60 of those are reported as equipped with gates.
- On a school-bus route9179% of public crossings
- Of those, equipped with gates6066% of route crossings
The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Cypress StreetValdosta2,200 vehicles a day2022 road count
- E Moore StValdosta725 vehicles a day2022 road count
- East Park AvenueValdosta3,400 vehicles a day2017 road count
- Northside DriveValdosta7,290 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Guest RoadValdosta1,576 vehicles a day2020 road count
- Studstill RoadValdosta530 vehicles a day2019 road count
- Lori StreetValdosta1,320 vehicles a day2015 road count
- 5429 Main StreetValdosta1,320 vehicles a day2015 road count
- Inner Perimeter RoadValdosta13,400 vehicles a day2019 road count
- Marette AvenueValdosta165 vehicles a day2025 road count
- West Savannah AvenueValdosta1,440 vehicles a day2025 road count
- Forrest StreetValdosta11,320 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Gil Harbin Ind BlvdValdosta2,750 vehicles a day2022 road count
- W Savannah AveValdosta1,560 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Bay LaneValdosta40 vehicles a day2024 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Lowndes County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Georgia
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates