Tennyson Road railroad crossing in Hayward, California
ID 749774WPublicAt gradeUnion Pacific Railroad Company
This crossing has gates and flashing lights. About 20 trains pass each day. About 26,004 vehicles cross each day. Counted in 2016. That count is 10 years old.
As many reported trains pass at night as by day (10 each).
Reported movements, not a timetable.Quiet zone status: No quiet zone.Source: FRA inventory of 4 October 2026.
As many reported trains pass at night as by day (10 each).
Trains a day
Reported
By day, 6 AM to 6 PM
10
At night, 6 PM to 6 AM
10
Total
20
About 20 trains and 26,004 vehicles cross here each day.
Road traffic
26,004 vehicles a day
Road count year
2016
counted 2016, 10 years old
Reported train total
20 trains a day
Daytime trains
10 trains a day
Nighttime trains
10 trains a day
Switching trains
0 trains a day
Passenger trains
Train count not reported
School bus route
Yes
School-bus passes
Not reported
Maximum rail speed
79 mph
Road speed limit
25 mph
The daily train total combines reported daytime, nighttime and switching movements. These reported movements are not arrival times. How reported train totals work. A school bus that crosses and returns counts as two passes on a normal school day.
Daytime and nighttime trains are reported in equal numbers.
From the FRA inventory of 4 October 2026. Values are reported trains a day.
Daytime and nighttime trains are reported in equal numbers.
FRA says GXAPS does not rank crossings from most to least likely to have an incident. The output information is not the end or final product, and the GXAPS data should not be used for non-intended purposes.
Reports of blocked crossings
Reports of blocked crossings are loading.
FRA does not confirm the accuracy of the blocked crossing reports submitted to this portal. This collection is not designed to provide a representative sample or create generalizable statistics. The data gathered from this collection is not suitable for use in budgetary requests, nor regulatory proposals.
6 incidents were reported here since 2016.
Reports
6
People injured
2
People killed
4
Reports were matched in 5 years. The latest is 2026.
Source: FRA incident reports matched to this crossing. Incident records cover 2016 through July 2026. 2026 is a partial year and cannot be compared directly with a full year.
Reports were matched in 5 years. The latest is 2026.
Year
Reports
People injured
People killed
2016
0
0
0
2017
0
0
0
2018
1
1
0
2019
0
0
0
2020
1
0
1
2021
1
0
1
2022
0
0
0
2023
2
0
2
2024
0
0
0
2025
0
0
0
2026 (through July 31)
1
1
0
Reports dated 2016 through July 2026. 2026 covers incidents through 31 July 2026, a partial year. Counts are past reports; they do not forecast what happens next.
Historical dates come from FRA reports. Recent dates show when Atlas observed a change. Neither confirms when work took place.
Loading record history…
1 project document names this crossing.
Project documents
The reviewed documents contain 1 reference to this crossing. A reference does not confirm that construction was completed. Check the project stage and funding status in each source. See three examples of reading project documents.
Tennyson Road
listed PE phase
Program
California Section 130 Railway-Highway Crossings Program
Year as reported
2022-2023
Amount, USD
Not listed
What the amount covers
not listed in source
130L301 Tennyson Road Local Agency 2022-2023 PE 6480 0423000284 50LP301 07/06/23 12/31/25 4 Alameda Oakland N/A 001D-23.00 / ALA-1505 749774W
Regional sample 3.1 mi from the reported crossing location. Climate averages cover 1979–2020.
What these figures describe
Population in the map area comes from a 2025 WorldPop model, summed over the map area that contains the reported crossing location. It is not a count of people who use the crossing. Unavailable estimates remain unknown.
Regional values use the nearest sample at roughly 3.1 mi scale. Elevation dates from 2011–2015. They do not describe exact conditions at the crossing.