How many public crossings does Rio Valley Switching Company report?
The federal inventory lists 233 public crossings with Rio Valley Switching Company as the reporting railroad.
FRA inventory of .
- Public crossings
- 233
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 233
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 40%
- Most trains a day reported
- 6
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 42
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 40% of these crossings.
- Gates9440%
- Flashing lights without reported gates3816%
- Signs without reported gates or lights10143%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Thompson RoadSanta Rosa349 vehicles a day2024 road count
- FM0800 / Bass BoulevardPrimera2,478 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Tamm LanePrimera243 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Burns RoadPrimera218 vehicles a day2024 road count
- US0281 Southbound FrontageEdinburg6,225 vehicles a day2021 road count
- US0281 Northbound FrontageEdinburg3,434 vehicles a day2020 road count
- North Juniper StreetPharr353 vehicles a day2019 road count
- North O StreetHarlingen1,429 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Beddoes RoadLa Feria1,129 vehicles a day2024 road count
- FM0733 / North Kansas City RoadLa Feria1,781 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Rabb RoadLa Feria2,400 vehicles a day2019 road count
- FM2556La Feria1,888 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Fair Park BoulevardHarlingen7,190 vehicles a day2019 road count
- South Ohio AvenueMercedes5,607 vehicles a day2024 road count
- South Virginia AvenueMercedes863 vehicles a day2024 road count
- FM0088 / South Texas BoulevardWeslaco16,944 vehicles a day2024 road count
- North Hutto RoadDonna6,497 vehicles a day2024 road count
- FM1423 / Val Verde RoadDonna10,701 vehicles a day2024 road count
- North Thirteenth StreetAlamo2,793 vehicles a day2024 road count
- South Iowa AvenueSan Juan1,189 vehicles a day2024 road count
- North Aster StreetPharr530 vehicles a day2024 road count
- North Bluebonnet StreetPharr1,853 vehicles a day2024 road count
- FM1016 / South Conway AvenueMission5,655 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Glasscock RoadMission1,333 vehicles a day2019 road count
- S Bentsen RoadHidalgo1,467 vehicles a day2024 road count
- North Canal AvenueMission917 vehicles a day2024 road count
- US0083 Southbound FrontageMission19,445 vehicles a day2024 road count
- FM2061 / S McColl RoadMcAllen30,529 vehicles a day2024 road count
- FM0396 / North Bryan RoadMission14,109 vehicles a day2019 road count
- IH0002 Northbound FrontageMission12,340 vehicles a day2019 road count
- W Chapin StreetEdinburg8,235 vehicles a day2024 road count
- West Hackberry AvenueMcAllen3,960 vehicles a day2019 road count
- Cedar AvenueMcAllen957 vehicles a day2019 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates