How many railroad crossings are in Emporia County, Virginia?
The FRA inventory of lists 14 public railroad crossings in Emporia County, Virginia.
- Public crossings
- 14
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 14
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 43%
- Most trains a day reported
- 28
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 2
- Gate share compared with the state
- 23 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 43% of these crossings.
- Gates643%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights857%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Emporia County, Virginia have the most trains?
- The crossing on Southampton Street reports 28 trains a day.
- The crossing on Low Ground Road reports 27 trains a day.
- The crossing on E Atlantic Street reports 26 trains a day.
- The crossing on Hicksford Avenue reports 26 trains a day.
- The crossing on Greensville Avenue reports 26 trains a day.
They are on Southampton Street, Low Ground Road, E Atlantic Street, Hicksford Avenue and Greensville Avenue. 6 of the 14 public crossings in Emporia County, Virginia have a quiet-zone designation.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Southampton StreetEmporia1,089 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Low Ground RoadEmporia2,214 vehicles a day2012 road count
- E Atlantic StreetEmporia3,687 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Hicksford AvenueEmporia2,634 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Greensville AvenueEmporia299 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Clay/Briggs StreetEmporia1,087 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Davis StEmporia1,259 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Davis StEmporia1,300 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Reese StreetEmporia1,900 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Halifax StEmporia2,084 vehicles a day2012 road count
- E Atlantic AvEmporia3,687 vehicles a day2012 road count
- N Main StreetEmporia8,532 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Walker StEmporia250 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Wiggins RoadEmporia660 vehicles a day2012 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Emporia County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Virginia
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates