How many railroad crossings are in Charlottesville County, Virginia?
The federal inventory lists 10 public railroad crossings in Charlottesville County, Virginia.
FRA inventory of .
- Public crossings
- 10
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 10
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 90%
- Most trains a day reported
- 25
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 1
- Gate share compared with the state
- 25 percentage points higher
Where these public crossings are.
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 90% of these crossings.
- Gates990%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights110%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
Compare the reported train traffic.
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- CONCORD STCharlottesville500 vehicles a day2012 road count
- DALE AVECharlottesville500 vehicles a day2011 road count
- SHAMROCK RDCharlottesville3,000 vehicles a day2011 road count
- CARLTON RDCharlottesville7,700 vehicles a day2012 road count
- 5TH STCharlottesville1,000 vehicles a day2012 road count
- 7TH STCharlottesville1,900 vehicles a day2012 road count
- 11TH STCharlottesville1,700 vehicles a day2012 road count
- 2ND STCharlottesville3,626 vehicles a day2012 road count
- 1ST STCharlottesville1,500 vehicles a day2012 road count
- PRESTON AVENUECharlottesville22,000 vehicles a day2011 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates