How many railroad crossings are in Salt Lake County, Utah?
The FRA inventory of lists 232 public railroad crossings in Salt Lake County, Utah.
- Public crossings
- 232
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 163
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 48%
- Most trains a day reported
- 81
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 59
- Gate share compared with the state
- 10 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 48% of these crossings.
- Gates11148%
- Flashing lights without reported gates63%
- Signs without reported gates or lights4620%
- Other or not reported6930%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
School-bus routes
81 of 232 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 67 of those are reported as equipped with gates.
- On a school-bus route8135% of public crossings
- Of those, equipped with gates6783% of route crossings
The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- 1223 Swaner RoadSalt Lake City2,475 vehicles a day2010 road count
- SR-111/8400 WestMagna16,000 vehicles a day2023 road count
- 8000 WestMagna4,932 vehicles a day2025 road count
- 7200 WestWest Valley City4,010 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 4100 SouthWest Valley City10,915 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 6400 WestWest Valley City3,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- 6400 WestWest Valley City100 vehicles a day1988 road count
- 6000 WestWest Valley City3,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- 6000 WestWest Valley City3,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- 4700 SouthWest Valley City11,425 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 7800 SouthWest Jordan15,645 vehicles a day2025 road count
- SR-48/New Bingham HighwayWest Jordan6,273 vehicles a day2025 road count
- 2700 WestSalt Lake City10,590 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 800 WestSouth Salt Lake910 vehicles a day2010 road count
- 2780 SouthSouth Salt Lake90 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Warm Springs RoadSalt Lake City5,015 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Paxton AvenueSalt Lake City500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- 1300 SouthSalt Lake City19,000 vehicles a day2024 road count
- 1700 SouthSalt Lake City12,000 vehicles a day2024 road count
- SR-201/2100 SouthSouth Salt Lake25,000 vehicles a day2024 road count
- 5900 SouthMurray10,500 vehicles a day2024 road count
- 6100 SouthMurray3,200 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Winchester StreetMurray11,000 vehicles a day2024 road count
- 1730 SouthSalt Lake City6,885 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 1820 SouthSalt Lake City3,840 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 1730 SouthSalt Lake City6,885 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 1730 SouthSalt Lake City6,885 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 900 SouthSalt Lake City3,945 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Delong StreetSalt Lake City1,190 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 1820 SouthSalt Lake City3,940 vehicles a day2012 road count
- 1820 SouthSalt Lake City3,840 vehicles a day2013 road count
- California AvenueSalt Lake City18,520 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Pedestrian Jordan River Bike TrailSalt Lake City1 vehicle a dayRoad count year not reported
- 1330 SouthSalt Lake City20,585 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 1500 SouthSalt Lake City400 vehicles a day2010 road count
- 1430 Industrial RoadSalt Lake City400 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Chestnut StreetSalt Lake City200 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Wallace RoadSalt Lake City400 vehicles a day2010 road count
- 1700 SouthSalt Lake City6,855 vehicles a day2013 road count
- California AvenueSalt Lake City20,585 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Winchester StMurrayNo road count has been reported.
- 1300 SouthSouth Salt LakeNo road count has been reported.
- 900 SSalt Lake CityNo road count has been reported.
- Main StSalt Lake CityNo road count has been reported.
- Central Pointe StationSouth Salt LakeNo road count has been reported.
- 7000 SouthWest Jordan4,496 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Warm Springs RoadSalt Lake City1,300 vehicles a day2010 road count
- California AvenueSalt Lake City7,915 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 400 WestSalt Lake City150 vehicles a day2010 road count
- 400 WestSalt Lake City150 vehicles a day2010 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Salt Lake County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Utah
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates