How many railroad crossings are in Freeport, Texas?
The federal inventory lists 18 public railroad crossings in Freeport, Texas.
FRA inventory of .
- Public crossings
- 18
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 18
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 28%
- Most trains a day reported
- 28
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 5
- Gate share compared with the state
- 36 percentage points lower
Where these public crossings are.
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 28% of these crossings.
- Gates528%
- Flashing lights without reported gates633%
- Signs without reported gates or lights739%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
Compare the reported train traffic.
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- OLD SURFSIDE ROADFreeport3,707 vehicles a day2019 road count
- FM 523 NORTH VELASCO BOULEVARDFreeport5,014 vehicles a day2019 road count
- SOUTH AVENUE DFreeport464 vehicles a day2019 road count
- DOW CANAL ROADFreeport464 vehicles a day2019 road count
- WEST BROAD STREETFreeport445 vehicles a day2019 road count
- WEST 4TH STREETFreeport1,411 vehicles a day2019 road count
- WEST 5TH STREETFreeport490 vehicles a day2019 road count
- WEST 8TH STREETFreeport1,564 vehicles a day2019 road count
- SOUTH ASH STREETFreeport47 vehicles a day2019 road count
- CHERRY STREETFreeport509 vehicles a day2019 road count
- FM 1495 PINE STREETFreeport5,000 vehicles a day2019 road count
- DOW CANAL ROADFreeport1,790 vehicles a day1992 road count
- FM1495 / PINE STREETFreeport3,147 vehicles a day2024 road count
- CR 229Freeport254 vehicles a day2019 road count
- DOW CANAL ROADFreeport1 vehicle a day1970 road count
- FM 523Freeport15,792 vehicles a day2019 road count
- US 36Freeport2,200 vehicles a day2016 road count
- SOUTH AVENUE DFreeport200 vehicles a day2017 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates