How many railroad crossings are in Knox County, Tennessee?

The FRA inventory of lists 143 public railroad crossings in Knox County, Tennessee.

Public crossings
143
Public crossings with identified warning devices
140
Public crossings reported with gates
36%
Most trains a day reported
15
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
24
Gate share compared with the state
About the same

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 3 in Knox County
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Knox County in the full map Members

Make a grant table of these crossings

Gates are reported at 36% of these crossings.

  • Gates5136%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates2719%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights6243%
  • Other or not reported32%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

School-bus routes

113 of 143 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 45 of those are reported as equipped with gates.

  • On a school-bus route11379% of public crossings
  • Of those, equipped with gates4540% of route crossings

The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 3 of 3
  1. McCampbell RdKnoxvilleID 730688SSigns only2 trains a day
    292 vehicles a day2006 road count
  2. Murphy RdKnoxvilleID 730691AGates2 trains a day
    8,801 vehicles a day2006 road count
  3. Luttrell RoadKnoxvilleID 730692GSigns only2 trains a day
    224 vehicles a day2006 road count
  4. Old Washington PkKnoxvilleID 730694VSigns only2 trains a day
    435 vehicles a day2006 road count
  5. Jones RoadKnoxvilleID 730695CSigns only2 trains a day
    339 vehicles a day2006 road count
  6. Maloneyville RoadKnoxvilleID 730697RSigns only2 trains a day
    1,244 vehicles a day2006 road count
  7. Wise Springs RoadKnoxvilleID 730698XSigns only2 trains a day
    1,620 vehicles a day2006 road count
  8. Booher RdKnoxvilleID 730703SGates2 trains a day
    192 vehicles a day2006 road count
  9. Boruff RoadCorrytonID 730704YSigns only2 trains a day
    714 vehicles a day2006 road count
  10. Roberts RdCorrytonID 730705FFlashing lights2 trains a day
    2,317 vehicles a day2006 road count
  11. Emory RdCorrytonID 730707UFlashing lights2 trains a day
    3,278 vehicles a day2006 road count
  12. Foster RoadCorrytonID 730709HSigns only2 trains a day
    629 vehicles a day2006 road count
  13. Corryton RdCorrytonID 730710CFlashing lights2 trains a day
    1,857 vehicles a day2006 road count
  14. Dan McBee RoadCorrytonID 730714ESigns only2 trains a day
    182 vehicles a day2006 road count
  15. Booker LaneCorrytonID 730716TSigns only2 trains a day
    9 vehicles a day2011 road count
  16. Grand AveKnoxvilleID 915898WSigns only2 trains a day
    1,343 vehicles a day2006 road count
  17. World Fair Prk DrKnoxvilleID 935069ESigns only2 trains a day
    29,200 vehicles a dayRoad count year not reported
  18. Ped XingKnoxvilleID 935071FOther or not reported2 trains a day
    No road count has been reported.
  19. Ped XingKnoxvilleID 935072MOther or not reported2 trains a day
    No road count has been reported.
  20. BurnsideKnoxvilleID 347633BSigns only1 train a day
    834 vehicles a day2006 road count
  21. Sevier AveKnoxvilleID 730492XSigns only1 train a day
    6,836 vehicles a day2006 road count
  22. Inskip RoadKnoxvilleID 730642DGates1 train a day
    6,682 vehicles a day2006 road count
  23. Cedar DrKnoxvilleID 730643KGates1 train a day
    16,129 vehicles a day2006 road count
  24. Dante DriveKnoxvilleID 730814JGates1 train a day
    6,323 vehicles a day2006 road count
  25. Beaver Creek DrPowellID 730819TGates1 train a day
    4,380 vehicles a day2006 road count
  26. Emory RoadPowellID 730822BGates1 train a day
    13,538 vehicles a day2007 road count
  27. Commerce StPowellID 730823HFlashing lights1 train a day
    823 vehicles a day2006 road count
  28. Brickyard RoadPowellID 730824PGates1 train a day
    3,028 vehicles a day2006 road count
  29. Copeland DrivePowellID 730825WFlashing lights1 train a day
    556 vehicles a day2006 road count
  30. Brushy Valley RdHeiskellID 730827KFlashing lights1 train a day
    459 vehicles a day2006 road count
  31. Bullrun Valley RdHeiskellID 730829YFlashing lights1 train a day
    340 vehicles a day2006 road count
  32. Depot RdHeiskellID 730830TSigns only1 train a day
    35 vehicles a day2006 road count
  33. Crisman RdHeiskellID 730832GSigns only1 train a day
    283 vehicles a day2006 road count
  34. St Paul St SWKnoxvilleID 730486USigns only0 trains a day
    147 vehicles a day2006 road count
  35. Chapman HighwayKnoxvilleID 730487BFlashing lights0 trains a day
    18,446 vehicles a day2006 road count
  36. Island Home Av SEKnoxvilleID 730502BSigns only0 trains a day
    1,795 vehicles a day2006 road count
  37. Fisher PlaceKnoxvilleID 730503HSigns only0 trains a day
    127 vehicles a day2006 road count
  38. Island Home AveKnoxvilleID 730510TSigns only0 trains a day
    1,233 vehicles a day2006 road count
  39. Cement Plant RoadMascotID 730577ASigns only0 trains a day
    89 vehicles a day2006 road count
  40. Casey DriveKnoxvilleID 877420DSigns only0 trains a day
    488 vehicles a day2006 road count
  41. Middlebrook PikeKnoxvilleID 877421KFlashing lights0 trains a day
    31,790 vehicles a day2006 road count
  42. Byington SolwayKnoxvilleID 927706LSigns only0 trains a day
    5,000 vehicles a day2007 road count
  43. Mascot RoadMascotID 960866KOther or not reported0 trains a day
    No road count has been reported.

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates