How many railroad crossings are in Lincoln County, South Dakota?
The FRA inventory of lists 63 public railroad crossings in Lincoln County, South Dakota.
- Public crossings
- 63
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 63
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 17%
- Most trains a day reported
- 4
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 7
- Gate share compared with the state
- 10 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 17% of these crossings.
- Gates1117%
- Flashing lights without reported gates711%
- Signs without reported gates or lights4571%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
School-bus routes
23 of 63 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 6 of those are reported as equipped with gates.
- On a school-bus route2337% of public crossings
- Of those, equipped with gates626% of route crossings
The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- 279th StreetLennox40 vehicles a day2020 road count
- 468th AvenueLennox40 vehicles a day2020 road count
- 467th AvenueLennox40 vehicles a day2020 road count
- SD 17Lennox3,090 vehicles a day2020 road count
- Cherry AvenueLennox340 vehicles a day2020 road count
- Main StreetLennox1,566 vehicles a day2020 road count
- Elm StreetLennox275 vehicles a day2020 road count
- 465th AvenueLennox40 vehicles a day2020 road count
- 4th StreetBeresford192 vehicles a day2020 road count
- 3rd StreetBeresford585 vehicles a day2020 road count
- 2nd StreetBeresford164 vehicles a day2020 road count
- SD 46Beresford5,134 vehicles a day2020 road count
- Lincoln StreetCanton629 vehicles a day2020 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Lincoln County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in South Dakota
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates