How many railroad crossings are in Big Stone City, South Dakota?
The FRA inventory of lists 4 public railroad crossings in Big Stone City, South Dakota.
- Public crossings
- 4
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 4
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 25%
- Most trains a day reported
- 5
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 1
- Gate share compared with the state
- 18 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 25% of these crossings.
- Gates125%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights375%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Big Stone City, South Dakota have the most trains?
- The crossing on Cornell Avenue reports 5 trains a day.
- The crossing on 484th Avenue reports 5 trains a day.
- The crossing on 146th Street reports 5 trains a day.
- The crossing on 483rd Avenue reports 5 trains a day.
They are on Cornell Avenue, 484th Avenue, 146th Street and 483rd Avenue. None of the 4 public crossings in Big Stone City, South Dakota has a quiet-zone designation.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
Trains blocking a crossing in Big Stone City? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in South Dakota
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates