How many railroad crossings are in Darlington County, South Carolina?
The FRA inventory of lists 64 public railroad crossings in Darlington County, South Carolina.
- Public crossings
- 64
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 63
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 38%
- Most trains a day reported
- 6
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 2
- Gate share compared with the state
- 13 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 38% of these crossings.
- Gates2438%
- Flashing lights without reported gates711%
- Signs without reported gates or lights3250%
- Other or not reported12%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
School-bus routes
44 of 64 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 20 of those are reported as equipped with gates.
- On a school-bus route4469% of public crossings
- Of those, equipped with gates2045% of route crossings
The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Edwards AvenueDarlington2,851 vehicles a day2013 road count
- East McIver RoadDarlington6,714 vehicles a day2013 road count
- East McIver RoadDarlington6,962 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Third StreetDarlington180 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Chalmers StreetDarlington583 vehicles a day2013 road count
- D AvenueDarlington994 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Third StreetDarlington894 vehicles a day2013 road count
- A AvenueDarlington263 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 624 E Home AveHartsville4,852 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 611 E Carolina AveHartsville4,334 vehicles a day2013 road count
- South Fifth StreetHartsville16,658 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 807 S 6th StHartsville4,864 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 367 W Washington StHartsville5,556 vehicles a day2013 road count
- W Bobo Newsome Hwy / 599 SC-151Hartsville15,674 vehicles a day2013 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Darlington County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in South Carolina
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates