How many railroad crossings are in Indiana County, Pennsylvania?

The FRA inventory of lists 78 public railroad crossings in Indiana County, Pennsylvania.

Public crossings
78
Public crossings with identified warning devices
76
Public crossings reported with gates
27%
Most trains a day reported
34
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
1
Gate share compared with the state
4 percentage points lower

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 2 in Indiana County
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Indiana County in the full map Members

Make a grant table of these crossings

Gates are reported at 27% of these crossings.

  • Gates2127%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates810%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights4760%
  • Other or not reported23%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

School-bus routes

2 of 78 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 2 of those are reported as equipped with gates.

  • On a school-bus route23% of public crossings
  • Of those, equipped with gates2100% of route crossings

The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 2 of 2
  1. Cherry Run RdHomer CityID 148863DGates2 trains a day
    418 vehicles a day2023 road count
  2. Rose St ExtIndianaID 925953WGates2 trains a day
    7,100 vehicles a day2010 road count
  3. Benjamin Franklin HighwaySheloctaID 148803UFlashing lights1 train a day
    10,617 vehicles a day2023 road count
  4. Anthony Run RoadSheloctaID 148805HSigns only1 train a day
    231 vehicles a day2026 road count
  5. Parkwood Station RoadSheloctaID 148809KSigns only1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  6. Old Route 56SheloctaID 148811LSigns only1 train a day
    85 vehicles a day2025 road count
  7. McIntyre RoadSheloctaID 148813ASigns only1 train a day
    321 vehicles a day2024 road count
  8. Rearick RoadSheloctaID 148816VSigns only1 train a day
    85 vehicles a day2026 road count
  9. Cribbs RoadSheloctaID 148817CSigns only1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  10. Park DriveSaltsburgID 148820KSigns only1 train a day
    138 vehicles a day2026 road count
  11. PA 580Cherry TreeID 528062KSigns only1 train a day
    704 vehicles a day2024 road count
  12. Hemlock RdCherry TreeID 528063SSigns only1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  13. McMannus RoadCherry TreeID 528065FOther or not reported1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  14. Fleming Summit RdCommodoreID 528066MSigns only1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  15. Vanderbilt StreetHillsdaleID 528067USigns only1 train a day
    1 vehicle a day1970 road count
  16. Pine RdCommodoreID 528071JSigns only1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  17. Public RoadCommodoreID 528072RFlashing lights1 train a day
    1,715 vehicles a day2024 road count
  18. Starford RoadStarfordID 528073XSigns only1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  19. Railroad AveClymerID 528078GSigns only1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  20. Adams StClymerID 528080HSigns only1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  21. Jefferson StClymerID 528081PSigns only1 train a day
    401 vehicles a day2009 road count
  22. Treese RdClymerID 528082WSigns only1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  23. Cherry StreetCherry TreeID 529288AGates1 train a day
    1,258 vehicles a day2024 road count
  24. Bell RoadSaltsburgID 925361LGates1 train a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count
  25. Frech StreetCreeksideID 148791CSigns only0 trains a day
    401 vehicles a day2009 road count
  26. Fulton Run RoadCreeksideID 148795ESigns only0 trains a day
    698 vehicles a day2024 road count
  27. Five Points RoadSheloctaID 148800YSigns only0 trains a day
    1,881 vehicles a day2023 road count
  28. Creek RoadSheloctaID 148802MSigns only0 trains a day
    95 vehicles a day2009 road count

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates