How many railroad crossings are in Butler County, Ohio?
The FRA inventory of lists 128 public railroad crossings in Butler County, Ohio.
- Public crossings
- 128
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 128
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 79%
- Most trains a day reported
- 42
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 46
- Gate share compared with the state
- 16 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 79% of these crossings.
- Gates10179%
- Flashing lights without reported gates86%
- Signs without reported gates or lights1915%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
School-bus routes
37 of 128 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 31 of those are reported as equipped with gates.
- On a school-bus route3729% of public crossings
- Of those, equipped with gates3184% of route crossings
The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Woodlawn AvenueMiddletown6,400 vehicles a day2007 road count
- New Haven RdShandon860 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Chapel RdShandon760 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Race Lane RdShandon456 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Cincinnati Brookville RdShandon2,580 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Layhigh RdShandon630 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Hamilton Scipio RdShandon1,348 vehicles a day2007 road count
- Dunwoody RdShandon140 vehicles a day2005 road count
- Hart RdShandon105 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Peoria Reily RdShandon410 vehicles a day2005 road count
- Augspurger RdNew Miami2,410 vehicles a day2008 road count
- Yankee RoadMiddletown5,080 vehicles a day2007 road count
- Zimmerman AvenueHamilton41 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Dues DrSpringdale3,803 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Cincinnati Dayton RdMonroe15,597 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Charles StreetMiddletown6,282 vehicles a day1997 road count
- Clark StreetMiddletown8 vehicles a day2003 road count
- Verity PkwyMiddletown9,023 vehicles a day2025 road count
- Broad StMiddletown1,029 vehicles a day1996 road count
- Tytus AveMiddletown5,885 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Columbia AvenueMiddletown6,440 vehicles a day2007 road count
- Reinartz BoulevardMiddletown500 vehicles a day1994 road count
- Stout RdCollege Corner80 vehicles a day2009 road count
- North Garver RoadMonroe2,886 vehicles a day2003 road count
- International BoulevardWest Chester200 vehicles a day2006 road count
- Le Saint DriveFairfield4,791 vehicles a day2008 road count
- Oxford State RoadMiddletown7,903 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Yankee RoadMiddletown5,547 vehicles a day2025 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Butler County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Ohio
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates