How many railroad crossings are in Dayton, Ohio?
The FRA inventory of lists 61 public railroad crossings in Dayton, Ohio.
- Public crossings
- 61
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 59
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 41%
- Most trains a day reported
- 25
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 14
- Gate share compared with the state
- 22 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 41% of these crossings.
- Gates2541%
- Flashing lights without reported gates1321%
- Signs without reported gates or lights2134%
- Other or not reported23%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- First StreetDayton260 vehicles a day1987 road count
- Edison AvenueDayton390 vehicles a day2000 road count
- Paul Laurence DunbarDayton3,349 vehicles a day2000 road count
- Rosedale DriveDayton4,267 vehicles a day2002 road count
- Bridge RoadDayton13,416 vehicles a day1998 road count
- Gettysburg AvenueDayton27,953 vehicles a day2001 road count
- Wolf Creek PikeDayton5,606 vehicles a day2025 road count
- Philadelphia DriveDayton13,416 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Woodley RoadDayton3,033 vehicles a day1984 road count
- Winston AvenueDayton1,276 vehicles a day1984 road count
- McFadden AvenueDayton43 vehicles a day2003 road count
Crossings in Montgomery County
Trains blocking a crossing in Dayton? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Ohio
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates