How many railroad crossings are in Greensboro, North Carolina?
The FRA inventory of lists 60 public railroad crossings in Greensboro, North Carolina.
- Public crossings
- 60
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 49
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 62%
- Most trains a day reported
- 41
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 26
- Gate share compared with the state
- 1 percentage point lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 62% of these crossings.
- Gates3762%
- Flashing lights without reported gates47%
- Signs without reported gates or lights813%
- Other or not reported1118%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Spring Garden StreetGreensboro20,027 vehicles a day2015 road count
- Sherwin RoadGreensboro434 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Chimney Rock RoadGreensboro1,814 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Friendly RoadGreensboro11,544 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Ped XingGreensboroNo road count has been reported.
- Washington StreetGreensboro5,200 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Hughes StreetGreensboro54 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Cessna DriveGreensboro1,008 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Ped XingGreensboroNo road count has been reported.
- Old Friendly RoadGreensboro4,232 vehicles a day2023 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Greensboro? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in North Carolina
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates