How many railroad crossings are in Tioga County, New York?

The FRA inventory of lists 61 public railroad crossings in Tioga County, New York.

Public crossings
61
Public crossings with identified warning devices
60
Public crossings reported with gates
31%
Most trains a day reported
25
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
2
Gate share compared with the state
37 percentage points lower

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 2 in Tioga County
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Tioga County in the full map Members

Make a grant table of these crossings

Gates are reported at 31% of these crossings.

  • Gates1931%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates610%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights3557%
  • Other or not reported12%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

School-bus routes

34 of 61 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 14 of those are reported as equipped with gates.

  • On a school-bus route3456% of public crossings
  • Of those, equipped with gates1441% of route crossings

The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 2 of 2
  1. Tappan RdNewark ValleyID 362388MFlashing lights0 trains a day
    1,300 vehicles a day1987 road count
  2. SR 38Newark ValleyID 362390NGates0 trains a day
    3,533 vehicles a day2004 road count
  3. Brown RdBerkshireID 362400SSigns only0 trains a day
    230 vehicles a day1987 road count
  4. Upper Browns LaneBerkshireID 362404USigns only0 trains a day
    230 vehicles a day1987 road count
  5. E Berkshire HillBerkshireID 362409DSigns only0 trains a day
    370 vehicles a day1987 road count
  6. SR 38BerkshireID 362410XGates0 trains a day
    3,297 vehicles a day2004 road count
  7. SR 38BerkshireID 362414AGates0 trains a day
    3,297 vehicles a day2004 road count
  8. Mill StRichfordID 362415GSigns only0 trains a day
    140 vehicles a day1987 road count
  9. Mill StRichfordID 362416NSigns only0 trains a day
    150 vehicles a day1987 road count
  10. SR79RichfordID 362418CGates0 trains a day
    5,059 vehicles a day2004 road count
  11. Broad Street ExtBartonID 961057DOther or not reported0 trains a day
    2,400 vehicles a day2018 road count

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates