How many railroad crossings are in Cattaraugus County, New York?

The FRA inventory of lists 117 public railroad crossings in Cattaraugus County, New York.

Public crossings
117
Public crossings with identified warning devices
117
Public crossings reported with gates
65%
Most trains a day reported
5
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
1
Gate share compared with the state
4 percentage points lower

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 3 in Cattaraugus County
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Cattaraugus County in the full map Members

Make a grant table of these crossings

Gates are reported at 65% of these crossings.

  • Gates7665%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates119%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights3026%
  • Other or not reported00%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

School-bus routes

76 of 117 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 54 of those are reported as equipped with gates.

  • On a school-bus route7665% of public crossings
  • Of those, equipped with gates5471% of route crossings

The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 3 of 3
  1. Maple StreetPortvilleID 529402XGates0 trains a day
    1,484 vehicles a day2011 road count
  2. Promised Land RdPortvilleID 529404LGates0 trains a day
    1,366 vehicles a day2012 road count
  3. Penn AvePortvilleID 529406AGates0 trains a day
    59 vehicles a day2007 road count
  4. Rowe StreetWestons MillsID 529407GGates0 trains a day
    No road count has been reported.
  5. Haskell RdPortvilleID 529408NGates0 trains a day
    2,819 vehicles a day2010 road count
  6. King StOleanID 529409VGates0 trains a day
    1,810 vehicles a day2009 road count
  7. North Union StOleanID 529412DGates0 trains a day
    10,830 vehicles a day2009 road count
  8. First StOleanID 529413KGates0 trains a day
    2,081 vehicles a day2012 road count
  9. Wayne StOleanID 529414SGates0 trains a day
    13,485 vehicles a day2009 road count
  10. Coleman StOleanID 529415YGates0 trains a day
    814 vehicles a day2011 road count
  11. Fourth StOleanID 529416FGates0 trains a day
    1,801 vehicles a day2010 road count
  12. Reynolds RdMachiasID 529424XGates0 trains a day
    140 vehicles a day2011 road count
  13. Elm StFranklinvilleID 529425EGates0 trains a day
    1,175 vehicles a day2011 road count
  14. Cadiz RdFranklinvilleID 529427TGates0 trains a day
    1,975 vehicles a day2010 road count
  15. Coal Chutes RoadFranklinvilleID 529433WGates0 trains a day
    213 vehicles a day2011 road count
  16. Sherlock Hollow RdHinsdaleID 971654MGates0 trains a day
    20 vehicles a day2015 road count
  17. Robinson RunSteamburgID 971660RSigns only0 trains a day
    20 vehicles a day2015 road count

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates