How many railroad crossings are in Dona Ana County, New Mexico?
The FRA inventory of lists 66 public railroad crossings in Dona Ana County, New Mexico.
- Public crossings
- 66
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 66
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 73%
- Most trains a day reported
- 42
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 7
- Gate share compared with the state
- 24 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 73% of these crossings.
- Gates4873%
- Flashing lights without reported gates23%
- Signs without reported gates or lights1624%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
School-bus routes
9 of 66 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 7 of those are reported as equipped with gates.
- On a school-bus route914% of public crossings
- Of those, equipped with gates778% of route crossings
The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Parker RdLas Cruces1,308 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Picacho AveLas Cruces21,557 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Hadley StLas Cruces2,535 vehicles a day2024 road count
- C CR E069Hatch15 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Browning RdHatch51 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Herrera RdHatch725 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Hall St NM 185Hatch3,373 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Spring Canyon RdHatch363 vehicles a day2024 road count
- C CR E005Hatch363 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Las Uvas Dairy RdHatch181 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Avenida Chihuahua PacificoDona Ana184 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Avenida Chihuahua PacificoDona Ana184 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Rincon RdHatch846 vehicles a day2024 road count
- County Road E008Hatch47 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Dona Ana RdDona Ana2,509 vehicles a day2024 road count
- College AveMesilla1,041 vehicles a day2024 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Dona Ana County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in New Mexico
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates