Railroad crossings in Washington County, Iowa
The federal inventory lists 24 public railroad crossings in Washington County, Iowa.
Inventory of .
- Public crossings
- 24
- Crossings with identified warning equipment
- 24
- Crossings reported with gates
- 54%
- Highest reported trains per day
- 8
- Reported incidents since 2016
- 2
- Gate share compared with the state
- 24 percentage points higher
Where the crossings are.
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 54% of these crossings.
- Gates1354%
- Flashing lights without reported gates14%
- Signs without reported gates or lights1042%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported equipment. Missing fields don't mean the equipment is absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a measure of crossing safety.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
Compare the reported train traffic.
Crossings are ordered by reported trains per day, from highest to lowest.
- NORTH D AVEWashington375876DGates reported8Trains per day200 vehicles per day2014 road count
- N IOWA AVEWashington375880TGates reported8Trains per day970 vehicles per day2014 road count
- N FOURTH AVEWashington607322UGates reported8Trains per day2,370 vehicles per day2014 road count
- dogWOOD AVEBrighton694426LGates reported2Trains per day1 vehicles per day2023 road count
- MAIN STRichland375846LGates reported1Trains per day170 vehicles per day2014 road count
- CEDAR AVEBrighton375848ASigns reported1Trains per day25 vehicles per day2010 road count
- ELM AVEBrighton375850BSigns reported1Trains per day10 vehicles per day2010 road count
- FIR AVEBrighton375852PSigns reported1Trains per day80 vehicles per day2014 road count
- IVY AVEWashington375861NSigns reported1Trains per day60 vehicles per day2014 road count
- 260TH STWashington375862VSigns reported1Trains per day10 vehicles per day2010 road count
- JUNIPER AVEWashington375863CSigns reported1Trains per day25 vehicles per day2010 road count
- KIWI AVEWashington375866XSigns reported1Trains per day25 vehicles per day2010 road count
- WEST MAIN STWashington375872BGates reported1Trains per day370 vehicles per day2014 road count
- north f aveWashington375875WGates reported1Trains per day130 vehicles per day2014 road count
- NORTH C AVEWashington375877KFlashing lights reported1Trains per day220 vehicles per day2014 road count
- NORTH B AVEWashington375878SGates reported1Trains per day600 vehicles per day1975 road count
- N MARION AVEWashington375879YGates reported1Trains per day1,240 vehicles per day2014 road count
- YUCCA AVENUEAinsworth607257RSigns reported1Trains per day10 vehicles per day2010 road count
- SPRUCE avenueAinsworth607314CSigns reported1Trains per day90 vehicles per day2014 road count
- NORTH 12TH AVEWashington607323BGates reported1Trains per day3,980 vehicles per day2014 road count
- PALM AVEWashington607326WSigns reported1Trains per day30 vehicles per day2010 road count
- MILITARY RDAinsworth607335VGates reported1Trains per day960 vehicles per day2014 road count
- THIRD STREETAinsworth607336CGates reported1Trains per day300 vehicles per day2014 road count
- FIRST STREETAinsworth607337JGates reported1Trains per day350 vehicles per day2014 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Read about the data.