Railroad crossings in Shellsburg, Iowa
The federal inventory lists 9 public railroad crossings in Shellsburg, Iowa.
Inventory of .
- Public crossings
- 9
- Crossings with identified warning equipment
- 9
- Crossings reported with gates
- 11%
- Highest reported trains per day
- 4
- Reported incidents since 2016
- 0
- Gate share compared with the state
- 19 percentage points lower
Where the crossings are.
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 11% of these crossings.
- Gates111%
- Flashing lights without reported gates222%
- Signs without reported gates or lights667%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported equipment. Missing fields don't mean the equipment is absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a measure of crossing safety.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
Compare the reported train traffic.
Crossings are ordered by reported trains per day, from highest to lowest.
- 30 AVE DRShellsburg607635JSigns reported4Trains per day170 vehicles per day2017 road count
- 29 AVEShellsburg607636RSigns reported4Trains per day10 vehicles per day2017 road count
- 28 AVE DRShellsburg607637XSigns reported4Trains per day45 vehicles per day2017 road count
- sw SMITH STShellsburg607937LFlashing lights reported4Trains per day1,595 vehicles per day2017 road count
- sw grand avenueShellsburg607938TSigns reported4Trains per day220 vehicles per day2017 road count
- SW CANTON STShellsburg607939AGates reported4Trains per day2,610 vehicles per day2017 road count
- SW TAYLOR STShellsburg607941BSigns reported4Trains per day20 vehicles per day2017 road count
- MAIN STShellsburg607942HFlashing lights reported4Trains per day1,340 vehicles per day2017 road count
- 31 AVE DRShellsburg607943PSigns reported4Trains per day80 vehicles per day2017 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Read about the data.