How many railroad crossings are in Prairie City, Illinois?
The FRA inventory of lists 4 public railroad crossings in Prairie City, Illinois.
- Public crossings
- 4
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 4
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 75%
- Most trains a day reported
- 18
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 0
- Gate share compared with the state
- 20 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 75% of these crossings.
- Gates375%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights125%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Prairie City, Illinois have the most trains?
- The crossing on Co Rd 2200 N reports 18 trains a day.
- The crossing on Mercer St reports 18 trains a day.
- The crossing on South St reports 18 trains a day.
- The crossing on Main St reports 18 trains a day.
They are on Co Rd 2200 N, Mercer St, South St and Main St. None of the 4 public crossings in Prairie City, Illinois has a quiet-zone designation.
Crossings here named on grant lists
- Co Rd 2200 N, crossing 072583L
Named in the Illinois Commerce Commission crossing program for fiscal year 2026. Work listed: Flashing Lights & Gates-Install; Approach-Reconstruct. Plan dated April 2023.
Source: Illinois Commerce Commission plan.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
Trains blocking a crossing in Prairie City? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Illinois
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates