How many public crossings does New York & Lake Erie report in New York?
The FRA inventory of lists 26 public railroad crossings in New York with New York & Lake Erie as the reporting railroad.
- Public crossings
- 26
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 26
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 15%
- Most trains a day reported
- 1
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 0
- Gate share compared with the state
- 53 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 15% of these crossings.
- Gates415%
- Flashing lights without reported gates415%
- Signs without reported gates or lights1869%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Maple StSouth Dayton227 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Pine StSouth Dayton1,137 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Oaks StSouth Dayton238 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Oaks RdDayton333 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Kent Switch RdCherry Creek216 vehicles a day2011 road count
- South Side RdCherry Creek596 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Rutledge RdEllington1,394 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Commercial StGowanda3,913 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Hill StGowanda862 vehicles a day2003 road count
- Maltbie RdDayton119 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Jolls RoadDayton437 vehicles a day2009 road count
- James RoadDayton52 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Church StreetDayton168 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Main StDayton1,579 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Gable StDayton196 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Main St.Dayton1,579 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Markham RdDayton600 vehicles a day2008 road count
- Dole StDayton135 vehicles a day2003 road count
- St-353Dayton451 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Main StLittle Valley3,727 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Levanworth StCattaraugus424 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Broadway RdDayton1,403 vehicles a day2008 road count
- Persia RdDayton169 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Van Etten RdDayton356 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Scott RdDayton34 vehicles a day2010 road count
- First StDayton80 vehicles a day2003 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates