How many public crossings does Minnesota Commercial Railway report in Minnesota?

The FRA inventory of lists 94 public railroad crossings in Minnesota with Minnesota Commercial Railway as the reporting railroad.

Public crossings
94
Public crossings with identified warning devices
90
Public crossings reported with gates
33%
Most trains a day reported
20
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
11
Gate share compared with the state
1 percentage point lower

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list

The map will return when crossing records are available.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Minnesota Commercial Railway in the full map Members

Gates are reported at 33% of these crossings.

  • Gates3133%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates2628%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights3335%
  • Other or not reported44%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 2 of 2

Too many requests right now. Try again in a few minutes.

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates