How many public crossings does Maine Department Of Transportation report in Maine?
The FRA inventory of lists 82 public railroad crossings in Maine with Maine Department Of Transportation as the reporting railroad.
- Public crossings
- 82
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 56
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 1%
- Most trains a day reported
- 6
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 1
- Gate share compared with the state
- 16 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Open Maine Department Of Transportation in the full map Members
Gates are reported at 1% of these crossings.
- Gates11%
- Flashing lights without reported gates67%
- Signs without reported gates or lights4960%
- Other or not reported2632%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Factory RdEast Machias63 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Chase Mill RdEast Machias162 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Cross RdEast Machias166 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Cooper RdEast Machias1,010 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Dwelly RdEast Machias25 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Gooch Mill RdEast Machias22 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Cooper RdEast Machias782 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Marion Ridge RdDennysville50 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Marion RdDennysville356 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Milwaukee RdDennysville25 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Smith Ridge RdDennysville122 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Pembroke RdPembroke726 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Pembroke RdPembroke726 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Mount Tom RdPembroke89 vehicles a day1988 road count
- South Meadow RdPembroke92 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Charlotte RdAlexander806 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Road not reportedCalais5,869 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Somerset StPortland2,234 vehicles a day2004 road count
- State StPortland14,150 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Forest AvePortland27,930 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Brattle StPortland744 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Parris StPortland744 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Hanover StPortland1,189 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Kennebec StPortland886 vehicles a day2004 road count
- PreblePortland5,503 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Elm StPortland1,031 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Fox StPortland5,214 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Franklin StPortland22,370 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Diamond StPortland1,862 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Plowman StPortland2,978 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Cove StPortland597 vehicles a day2004 road count
- School EntranceEllsworth150 vehicles a dayRoad count year not reported
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates