How many public crossings does CSX Transportation report in Indiana?
The FRA inventory of lists 1,588 public railroad crossings in Indiana with CSX Transportation as the reporting railroad.
- Public crossings
- 1,588
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 1,564
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 52%
- Most trains a day reported
- 55
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 428
- Gate share compared with the state
- 9 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 52% of these crossings.
- Gates83352%
- Flashing lights without reported gates31120%
- Signs without reported gates or lights42026%
- Other or not reported242%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Belmont AveIndianapolis4,600 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Holmes Ave NIndianapolis2,550 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Michigan St WIndianapolis9,518 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Indiana StreetRoachdale1,396 vehicles a day1986 road count
- CR 60St Joe631 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Quincy StreetGarrett1,836 vehicles a day2018 road count
- First StMontgomery525 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Gostlin StreetEast Chicago365 vehicles a day1986 road count
- Gostlin St/145thEast Chicago850 vehicles a day1986 road count
- 129th StWhiting7,500 vehicles a day1986 road count
- Indianapolis BlvdWhiting14,490 vehicles a day1999 road count
- 121st StreetWhiting750 vehicles a day1986 road count
- W 93rd AveSt John7,443 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Thielen StSt John3,675 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Joliet StSt John3,533 vehicles a day2018 road count
- 900 NRoselawn1,050 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Race StreetMonon250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Arch StMonon250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Market St/US 421Monon500 vehicles a day2018 road count
- AlleyMonon250 vehicles a day1986 road count
- CR 900 SBrookston250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- 3rd StreetBrookston6,198 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Washington StreetRoachdale250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- CR 1200NRoachdale250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- County Road 1100 NorthRoachdale250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- County Road 900 NorthBainbridge250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- County Road 800 NorthBainbridge250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Main StreetBainbridge250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Depot StreetBainbridge200 vehicles a day2002 road count
- Robert Weist AveCloverdale1,484 vehicles a day2018 road count
- FultonCloverdale250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Columbus StreetCloverdale250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- 3rd StreetMonon602 vehicles a day2018 road count
- 4th StreetMonon250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- 5th StreetMonon1,450 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Reed StreetMonon250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- SR 16Monon3,637 vehicles a day2018 road count
- 900 NorthMonon122 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Public RoadMononNo road count has been reported.
- CR1000S/Co LineFrancesville250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- CR 900SFrancesville250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- CR 800SFrancesville525 vehicles a day2018 road count
- CR 700SFrancesville250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- CR 550SFrancesville250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Lyman AveFrancesville250 vehicles a day1986 road count
- West JamesFrancesville250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Montgomery StreetFrancesville1,031 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Yellow StreetFrancesville250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- W GordonFrancesville250 vehicles a day2018 road count
- CR 300SFrancesville250 vehicles a day2018 road count
Report a blocked crossing
Call the number on the blue sign at the crossing first. The sign names the railroad and gives the crossing number.
CSX's line for reporting a problem at the tracks: 1-800-232-0144.
CSX contact pageCSX form for a crossing that is blocked again and again
Have ready: your name, the location (address or milepost) and what you observed. Checked on on csx.com.
Then tell the Federal Railroad Administration with its blocked crossing reporter. FRA uses the reports only to track where crossings are blocked and what that causes.
If someone needs help right away, call 911. How to report a blocked crossing
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates