How many public crossings does Canadian National - North America report in Tennessee?

The FRA inventory of lists 18 public railroad crossings in Tennessee with Canadian National - North America as the reporting railroad.

Public crossings
18
Public crossings with identified warning devices
17
Public crossings reported with gates
11%
Most trains a day reported
40
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
8
Gate share compared with the state
24 percentage points lower

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 1 in Canadian National - North America
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Canadian National - North America in the full map Members

Gates are reported at 11% of these crossings.

  • Gates211%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates422%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights1161%
  • Other or not reported16%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 1 of 1
  1. Port StMemphisID 663486KFlashing lights40 trains a day
    308 vehicles a day2007 road count
  2. Pershing AvenueMemphisID 348550RGates16 trains a day
    1,689 vehicles a day2006 road count
  3. Broad AveMemphisID 348552EGates16 trains a day
    3,935 vehicles a day2007 road count
  4. Buoy StMemphisID 663487SSigns only7 trains a day
    502 vehicles a day2007 road count
  5. Channel StreetMemphisID 663491GSigns only7 trains a day
    211 vehicles a day2007 road count
  6. Channel Ave SouthMemphisID 663493VSigns only7 trains a day
    301 vehicles a day2007 road count
  7. Channel AveMemphisID 663495JFlashing lights7 trains a day
    2,150 vehicles a day2007 road count
  8. Dock StreetMemphisID 663496RSigns only7 trains a day
    961 vehicles a day2007 road count
  9. Channel StreetMemphisID 663497XSigns only7 trains a day
    141 vehicles a day2007 road count
  10. Channel StMemphisID 663498ESigns only7 trains a day
    141 vehicles a day2007 road count
  11. Channel StreetMemphisID 663499LSigns only7 trains a day
    141 vehicles a day2007 road count
  12. Channel StMemphisID 663500DFlashing lights7 trains a day
    5,440 vehicles a day2007 road count
  13. Pier StreetMemphisID 663503YSigns only7 trains a day
    719 vehicles a day2007 road count
  14. Wharf StreetMemphisID 663504FSigns only7 trains a day
    535 vehicles a day2007 road count
  15. Dock StreetMemphisID 663505MSigns only7 trains a day
    620 vehicles a day2007 road count
  16. Port St SouthMemphisID 663506USigns only7 trains a day
    201 vehicles a day2007 road count
  17. PrivateMemphisID 979848VOther or not reported4 trains a day
    520 vehicles a day2025 road count
  18. Riverside BlvdMemphisID 673082SFlashing lights0 trains a day
    2,320 vehicles a day2007 road count

Report a blocked crossing

  1. Call the number on the blue sign at the crossing first. The sign names the railroad and gives the crossing number.

  2. CN Police line: 1-800-465-9239. CN does not list a separate line for blocked crossings in the United States.

    Have ready: the crossing location and the DOT crossing number from the blue sign. Checked on on cn.ca.

  3. Then tell the Federal Railroad Administration with its blocked crossing reporter. FRA uses the reports only to track where crossings are blocked and what that causes.

If someone needs help right away, call 911. How to report a blocked crossing

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates