How many public crossings does BNSF Railway Company report in Wyoming?

The FRA inventory of lists 243 public railroad crossings in Wyoming with BNSF Railway Company as the reporting railroad.

Public crossings
243
Public crossings with identified warning devices
242
Public crossings reported with gates
69%
Most trains a day reported
45
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
11
Gate share compared with the state
13 percentage points higher

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 5 in BNSF Railway Company
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open BNSF Railway Company in the full map Members

Gates are reported at 69% of these crossings.

  • Gates16869%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates156%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights5924%
  • Other or not reported10%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 5 of 5
  1. Lane 5wFrannieID 091478LSigns only2 trains a day
    60 vehicles a day2024 road count
  2. St Hwy 114DeaverID 091482BFlashing lights2 trains a day
    1,107 vehicles a day2024 road count
  3. Central AveDeaverID 091483HGates2 trains a day
    211 vehicles a day2024 road count
  4. Shoshone AveLovellID 091500WGates2 trains a day
    49 vehicles a day2024 road count
  5. Co Rd 12LovellID 091503SSigns only2 trains a day
    37 vehicles a day2024 road count
  6. Co Rd 13LovellID 091506MSigns only2 trains a day
    152 vehicles a day2024 road count
  7. Wyo 14aLovellID 091517AFlashing lights2 trains a day
    821 vehicles a day2024 road count
  8. Co Rd 20LovellID 091519NSigns only2 trains a day
    14 vehicles a day2024 road count
  9. Park Co Rd 1waFrannieID 094496UGates2 trains a day
    10 vehicles a day2024 road count
  10. Co Rd R8PowellID 094497BGates2 trains a day
    2,165 vehicles a day2024 road count
  11. LincolnGilletteID 094840TSigns only2 trains a day
    423 vehicles a day2024 road count
  12. Butlers SpaethGilletteID 094841ASigns only2 trains a day
    77 vehicles a day2024 road count
  13. Co Rd 2abCodyID 095112LGates2 trains a day
    1,192 vehicles a day2024 road count
  14. Echeta RdGilletteID 098841NSigns only2 trains a day
    169 vehicles a day2024 road count
  15. Co Rd L17RalstonID 099010GSigns only2 trains a day
    72 vehicles a day2024 road count
  16. Co Rd L18CodyID 099011NSigns only2 trains a day
    85 vehicles a day2024 road count
  17. Co Rd L19CodyID 099012VSigns only2 trains a day
    263 vehicles a day2024 road count
  18. Co Rd L20CodyID 099013CSigns only2 trains a day
    532 vehicles a day2024 road count
  19. CR 2abCodyID 099022BFlashing lights2 trains a day
    2,382 vehicles a day2024 road count
  20. Washakie AveWorlandID 099131EGates2 trains a day
    254 vehicles a day2024 road count
  21. Co Lane 2WorlandID 099132LSigns only2 trains a day
    7 vehicles a day2024 road count
  22. R4GarlandID 099140DSigns only2 trains a day
    315 vehicles a day2024 road count
  23. Thornton RoadUptonID 919164JSigns only2 trains a day
    44 vehicles a day2024 road count
  24. Worland Ind RdWorlandID 924582KGates2 trains a day
    494 vehicles a day2024 road count
  25. County Road 7PowellID 966593NSigns only2 trains a day
    525 vehicles a day2024 road count
  26. Lane 8aDeaverID 091485WSigns only1 train a day
    34 vehicles a day2024 road count
  27. Road 7aCowleyID 091491AGates1 train a day
    2,086 vehicles a day2024 road count
  28. Quarry RoadGuernseyID 064988TGates0 trains a day
    329 vehicles a day2024 road count
  29. Quarry RoadGuernseyID 095103MGates0 trains a day
    673 vehicles a day2024 road count
  30. Santa Fe CircleCasperID 927472KSigns only0 trains a day
    25 vehicles a day2024 road count
  31. Irvine RoadDouglasID 967221AFlashing lights0 trains a day
    210 vehicles a day2024 road count
  32. Irvine RoadDouglasID 967223NFlashing lights0 trains a day
    210 vehicles a day2024 road count
  33. North StBasinID 977557YSigns only0 trains a day
    128 vehicles a day2024 road count
  34. Buffalo RdGuernseyID 977648ESigns only0 trains a day
    1 vehicle a day2024 road count
  35. West C StTorringtonID 982896NSigns only0 trains a day
    1,990 vehicles a day2024 road count
  36. State HwyCasperID 089336VGates
    4,010 vehicles a day2024 road count
  37. Bucknum RdPowder RiverID 090814PGates
    124 vehicles a day2024 road count
  38. Bighorn AveBasinID 090833UGates
    25 vehicles a day2024 road count
  39. Lane 15WorlandID 090858PSigns only
    21 vehicles a day2024 road count
  40. Fox RdWorlandID 091473CGates
    20 vehicles a day2024 road count
  41. Oriva HillsGilletteID 098839MGates
    4 vehicles a day2024 road count
  42. County RoadRanchesterID 104166UGates
    32 vehicles a day2024 road count
  43. Co Rd 103Horse CreekID 245549KGates
    33 vehicles a day2024 road count

Report a blocked crossing

  1. Call the number on the blue sign at the crossing first. The sign names the railroad and gives the crossing number.

  2. BNSF's line for a train blocking a crossing: 1-800-832-5452. Choose option 3 when the call answers.

    Have ready: the street or roadway, the city and the DOT crossing number from the blue sign at the crossing. Checked on on bnsf.com.

  3. Then tell the Federal Railroad Administration with its blocked crossing reporter. FRA uses the reports only to track where crossings are blocked and what that causes.

If someone needs help right away, call 911. How to report a blocked crossing

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates