How many railroad crossings are in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin?
The FRA inventory of lists 8 public railroad crossings in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin.
- Public crossings
- 8
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 8
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 88%
- Most trains a day reported
- 21
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 5
- Gate share compared with the state
- 56 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 88% of these crossings.
- Gates788%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights113%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin have the most trains?
- The crossing on 63rd Street reports 21 trains a day.
- The crossing on 68th St State reports 21 trains a day.
- The crossing on 70th St State reports 21 trains a day.
- The crossing on 72nd St State reports 21 trains a day.
- The crossing on Harwood Ave reports 21 trains a day.
They are on 63rd Street, 68th St State, 70th St State, 72nd St State and Harwood Ave. 8 of the 8 public crossings in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin have a quiet-zone designation.
Train quiet zones in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
8 public crossings in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin have a quiet-zone designation.
- The crossing on 63rd Street is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with SOO Line Railroad Company as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 68th St State is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with SOO Line Railroad Company as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 70th St State is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with SOO Line Railroad Company as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 72nd St State is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with SOO Line Railroad Company as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Harwood Ave is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with SOO Line Railroad Company as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 115th St is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with SOO Line Railroad Company as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on West Potter Street is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Union Pacific Railroad Company as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on North 124th Street is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Union Pacific Railroad Company as the reporting railroad.
Railroad bridges over roads in this city
- UPRR over IH 94 RAMPS SB WS SA
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 20 ft 1 in (6.14 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
- CMSTPP RR over LRD SWAN BLVD
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 11 ft 10 in (3.62 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
- CNW RR over LRD WATERTOWN PLANK RD
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 14 ft 11 in (4.55 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Clearance is the measured height recorded by the state in the National Bridge Inventory. The sign at the bridge can show a different figure.
Source: FHWA National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- 63rd StreetWauwatosa650 vehicles a day2023 road count
- 68th St StateWauwatosa8,020 vehicles a day2023 road count
- 70th St StateWauwatosa2,630 vehicles a day2023 road count
- 72nd St StateWauwatosa890 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Harwood AveWauwatosa240 vehicles a day2023 road count
- 115th StWauwatosa4,884 vehicles a day2023 road count
- West Potter StreetWauwatosa1,322 vehicles a day2023 road count
- North 124th StreetWauwatosa11,573 vehicles a day2022 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Wauwatosa? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Wisconsin
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates