How many railroad crossings are in Lake Preston, South Dakota?
The FRA inventory of lists 7 public railroad crossings in Lake Preston, South Dakota.
- Public crossings
- 7
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 6
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 14%
- Most trains a day reported
- 10
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 1
- Gate share compared with the state
- 7 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 14% of these crossings.
- Gates114%
- Flashing lights without reported gates114%
- Signs without reported gates or lights457%
- Other or not reported114%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Lake Preston, South Dakota have the most trains?
- The crossing on Main Avenue reports 10 trains a day.
- The crossing on 441st Avenue reports 10 trains a day.
They are on Main Avenue and 441st Avenue. None of the 7 public crossings in Lake Preston, South Dakota has a quiet-zone designation.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Main AvenueLake Preston636 vehicles a day2020 road count
- 441st AvenueLake Preston508 vehicles a day2020 road count
- 446th AvenueLake Preston20 vehicles a day2020 road count
- Park AvenueLake Preston69 vehicles a day2020 road count
- Preston AvenueLake Preston65 vehicles a day2020 road count
- 439th AvenueLake Preston20 vehicles a day2020 road count
- 438th AvenueLake Preston20 vehicles a day2020 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Lake Preston? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in South Dakota
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates