How many railroad crossings are in Granville County, North Carolina?
The FRA inventory of lists 42 public railroad crossings in Granville County, North Carolina.
- Public crossings
- 42
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 42
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 33%
- Most trains a day reported
- 6
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 0
- Gate share compared with the state
- 29 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 33% of these crossings.
- Gates1433%
- Flashing lights without reported gates37%
- Signs without reported gates or lights2560%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Granville County, North Carolina have the most trains?
- The crossing on B Street reports 6 trains a day.
- The crossing on Culbreth Rd reports 4 trains a day.
- The crossing on Sunset Street reports 4 trains a day.
- The crossing on Industry Drive reports 3 trains a day.
- The crossing on Hancock Road reports 3 trains a day.
They are on B Street, Culbreth Rd, Sunset Street, Industry Drive and Hancock Road. None of the 42 public crossings in Granville County, North Carolina has a quiet-zone designation.
Norfolk Southern Railway Company
Radio frequencies licensed to this railroad in this county
Railroad VHF channels, 159.810 to 161.565 MHz
- 160.5150 MHz, base station, mobileCall sign WNSD983, license active until 15 May 2035View the license at the FCC
- 160.9050 MHz, base station, mobileCall sign WNSD983, license active until 15 May 2035View the license at the FCC
- 161.4750 MHz, base station, mobileCall sign WQFI228, license active until 20 Jul 2036View the license at the FCC
3 more licenses
- Call sign WQFI501, license active until 24 Jul 2036View the license at the FCC
- Call sign WQJM293, license active until 30 Oct 2028View the license at the FCC
- Call sign WQVM229, license active until 25 Mar 2035View the license at the FCC
- 161.5350 MHz, base station, mobileCall sign WQVM229, license active until 25 Mar 2035View the license at the FCC
- 161.5650 MHz, base stationCall sign WNSD983, license active until 15 May 2035View the license at the FCC
Source: FCC Universal Licensing System, weekly license file, 18 Oct 2026.
School-bus routes
30 of 42 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 13 of those are reported as equipped with gates.
- On a school-bus route3071% of public crossings
- Of those, equipped with gates1343% of route crossings
The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- B StreetButner2,160 vehicles a day2015 road count
- Culbreth RdStem440 vehicles a day2015 road count
- Sunset StreetStem109 vehicles a day2015 road count
- Industry DriveOxford8,938 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Hancock RoadOxford355 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Providence RoadOxford1,963 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Peake RdOxford100 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Harper Renn RdOxford391 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Providence Rd/Old75Stem2,230 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Main StStem2,792 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Tally Ho RdStem1,401 vehicles a day2015 road count
- Otho Mangum RoadStem727 vehicles a day2015 road count
- East C StButner12,126 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Central AveButner12,210 vehicles a day2015 road count
- 26th StreetButner100 vehicles a day2019 road count
- Tobacco RdOxford31 vehicles a day2006 road count
- Old Mill RoadOxford10 vehicles a day2000 road count
- College StreetOxford8,599 vehicles a day2005 road count
- Delacroix StreetOxford836 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Hicksmill RoadOxford2,465 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Roxboro RoadOxford4,963 vehicles a day2005 road count
- College StreetOxford1,140 vehicles a day2006 road count
- Clement AvenueOxford380 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Alexander AvenueOxford293 vehicles a day2005 road count
- Cherry StreetOxford2,243 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Penn AvenueOxford1,129 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Hillsboro StreetOxford5,745 vehicles a day2005 road count
- SR 1215Butner5,569 vehicles a day2015 road count
- Old US-15Stovall177 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Townsville RdStovall809 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Buckhorn RdStovall995 vehicles a day1996 road count
- J G Morton RoadStovall83 vehicles a day1994 road count
- Stovall RdStovall20 vehicles a day1996 road count
- Wilson Town RdStovall350 vehicles a dayRoad count year not reported
- Cross StStovall422 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Beauty StStovall187 vehicles a day2004 road count
- Main StStovall1,951 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Gillis StStovall1,840 vehicles a day1996 road count
- Lewis StStovall331 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Reavis RdStovall70 vehicles a day1996 road count
- Chewning RdOxford1,200 vehicles a day1993 road count
- Winding Oak RdOxford154 vehicles a day1996 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Granville County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in North Carolina
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates