How many railroad crossings are in James City, North Carolina?
The FRA inventory of lists 10 public railroad crossings in James City, North Carolina.
- Public crossings
- 10
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 9
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 90%
- Most trains a day reported
- 4
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 3
- Gate share compared with the state
- 28 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 90% of these crossings.
- Gates990%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights00%
- Other or not reported110%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in James City, North Carolina have the most trains?
- The crossing on Fisher Avenue reports 4 trains a day.
- The crossing on Riverdale Road reports 4 trains a day.
- The crossing on Camp Kiro Road reports 4 trains a day.
- The crossing on West Thurman Road reports 4 trains a day.
- The crossing on W Grantham Road reports 4 trains a day.
They are on Fisher Avenue, Riverdale Road, Camp Kiro Road, West Thurman Road and W Grantham Road. None of the 10 public crossings in James City, North Carolina has a quiet-zone designation.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Fisher AvenueJames City561 vehicles a day2026 road count
- Riverdale RoadJames City656 vehicles a day2026 road count
- Camp Kiro RoadJames City2,257 vehicles a day2026 road count
- West Thurman RoadJames City10,505 vehicles a day2026 road count
- W Grantham RoadJames City1,708 vehicles a day2026 road count
- Airport RoadJames City4,650 vehicles a day2026 road count
- John StreetJames City131 vehicles a day2026 road count
- Howell RoadJames City7,855 vehicles a day2026 road count
- Williams RoadJames City6,936 vehicles a day2026 road count
- US 70James City50,352 vehicles a day2015 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in James City? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in North Carolina
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates