How many railroad crossings are in Cary, North Carolina?
The FRA inventory of lists 15 public railroad crossings in Cary, North Carolina.
- Public crossings
- 15
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 15
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 100%
- Most trains a day reported
- 19
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 2
- Gate share compared with the state
- 38 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 100% of these crossings.
- Gates15100%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights00%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Cary, North Carolina have the most trains?
- The crossing on Trinity Road reports 19 trains a day.
- The crossing on Northeast Maynard Road reports 18 trains a day.
- The crossing on Harrison Street reports 18 trains a day.
- The crossing on Academy Street reports 18 trains a day.
- The crossing on Academy Street reports 5 trains a day.
They are on Trinity Road, Northeast Maynard Road, Harrison Street and Academy Street. None of the 15 public crossings in Cary, North Carolina has a quiet-zone designation.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Trinity RoadCary2,644 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Northeast Maynard RoadCary17,149 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Harrison StreetCary3,890 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Academy StreetCary5,312 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Academy StreetCary5,181 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Harrison AvenueCary14,620 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Old Apex RoadCary8,394 vehicles a day2022 road count
- High House RoadCary4,172 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Southwest Maynard RoadCary17,439 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Southwest Cary ParkwayCary17,438 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Dixon StreetCary2,023 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Waldo Rood BoulevardCary4,366 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Davis DriveCary8,173 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Morrisville ParkwayCary5,964 vehicles a day2024 road count
- O'Kelly Chapel RoadCary625 vehicles a day2024 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Cary? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in North Carolina
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates