How many railroad crossings are in Lowndes County, Mississippi?
The FRA inventory of lists 85 public railroad crossings in Lowndes County, Mississippi.
- Public crossings
- 85
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 83
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 15%
- Most trains a day reported
- 15
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 13
- Gate share compared with the state
- 22 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 15% of these crossings.
- Gates1315%
- Flashing lights without reported gates2125%
- Signs without reported gates or lights4958%
- Other or not reported22%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
School-bus routes
9 of 85 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 4 of those are reported as equipped with gates.
- On a school-bus route911% of public crossings
- Of those, equipped with gates444% of route crossings
The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Hughes RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Concord RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Halbert RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Sobley RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Spurlock RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1998 road count
- Bethel Rd / 531 Co-op RdColumbus1,001 vehicles a day1997 road count
- 100 Eskridge DrColumbus319 vehicles a day1997 road count
- 94 Smith RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1997 road count
- 2455 Steens RdColumbus1,900 vehicles a day1997 road count
- 389 Steens-vernon RdColumbus1,600 vehicles a day1997 road count
- 72 Porter LnColumbus319 vehicles a day1997 road count
- Sally Freeman RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1986 road count
- Evansdale RoadColumbus319 vehicles a day1984 road count
- Limerock RoadColumbus319 vehicles a day1986 road count
- Lindsey Ferry RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1986 road count
- Caledonia-kolola Springs RdHamilton1,500 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Watson RdColumbus250 vehicles a day1988 road count
- McCullough RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Ridge RdColumbus220 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Ridge RdColumbus1,700 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Alomar RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Jesse Lyons RdColumbus1,200 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Matson RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Television RdColumbus319 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Bethel RdColumbus1,001 vehicles a day1988 road count
- 14th AveColumbus8,900 vehicles a day1995 road count
- 7th AveColumbus4,600 vehicles a day1995 road count
- 4th Ave NColumbus2,400 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Ms Hwy 182Columbus13,000 vehicles a day1995 road count
- College StColumbus1,001 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Bell AveColumbus2,800 vehicles a day1995 road count
- 8th AveColumbus1,001 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Artesia RoadArtesia100 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Manufacturers DriveArtesia1 vehicle a day1900 road count
- 1692 7th Avenue NColumbus1 vehicle a day1900 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Lowndes County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Mississippi
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates