How many railroad crossings are in Battle Creek, Michigan?
The FRA inventory of lists 23 public railroad crossings in Battle Creek, Michigan.
- Public crossings
- 23
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 23
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 91%
- Most trains a day reported
- 16
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 13
- Gate share compared with the state
- 57 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 91% of these crossings.
- Gates2191%
- Flashing lights without reported gates29%
- Signs without reported gates or lights00%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Battle Creek, Michigan have the most trains?
- The crossing on C Ave Nwatkins reports 16 trains a day.
- The crossing on Renton Road/1 Mil reports 16 trains a day.
- The crossing on Forrest St reports 16 trains a day.
- The crossing on Kendall St reports 16 trains a day.
- The crossing on McCamly St reports 16 trains a day.
They are on C Ave Nwatkins, Renton Road/1 Mil, Forrest St, Kendall St and McCamly St. 8 of the 23 public crossings in Battle Creek, Michigan have a quiet-zone designation.
Train quiet zones in Battle Creek, Michigan
8 public crossings in Battle Creek, Michigan have a quiet-zone designation.
- The crossing on Kendall St is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Grand Trunk Western Railroad Inc. as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on McCamly St is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Grand Trunk Western Railroad Inc. as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Capital Ave SW is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Grand Trunk Western Railroad Inc. as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on South Ave is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Grand Trunk Western Railroad Inc. as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Main St is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Grand Trunk Western Railroad Inc. as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Elm St is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Grand Trunk Western Railroad Inc. as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Michigan Ave E/I9 is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Grand Trunk Western Railroad Inc. as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on East Michigan Avenue is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Amtrak (National Railroad Passenger Corporation) as the reporting railroad.
Railroad bridges over roads in this city
- MDOT RR CORRIDOR over I-69
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 16 ft 11 in (5.16 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Clearance is the measured height recorded by the state in the National Bridge Inventory. The sign at the bridge can show a different figure.
Source: FHWA National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- C Ave NwatkinsBattle Creek500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Renton Road/1 MilBattle Creek1,000 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Forrest StBattle Creek2,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Kendall StBattle Creek1,713 vehicles a day2021 road count
- McCamly StBattle Creek1,929 vehicles a day2021 road count
- Capital Ave SWBattle Creek7,728 vehicles a day2021 road count
- South AveBattle Creek700 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Main StBattle Creek5,108 vehicles a day2021 road count
- Elm StBattle Creek3,736 vehicles a day2021 road count
- Michigan Ave E/I9Battle Creek3,979 vehicles a day2021 road count
- McAllister RdBattle Creek792 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Pine Lake RoadBattle Creek1,213 vehicles a day2009 road count
- T Drive/Burrows RBattle Creek200 vehicles a day2010 road count
- West DriveBattle Creek4,300 vehicles a day2007 road count
- F Drive NorthBattle Creek1 vehicle a day1986 road count
- East Michigan AvenueBattle Creek3,263 vehicles a day2021 road count
- South Kendall StreetBattle Creek3,800 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Angell StreetBattle Creek3,500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- South Bedford RoadBattle Creek16,200 vehicles a day1990 road count
- River Road WestBattle Creek500 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Custer DriveBattle Creek4,134 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Jameson StBattle Creek650 vehicles a day2010 road count
- Porter StBattle Creek2,400 vehicles a day2010 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Battle Creek? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Michigan
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates