How many railroad crossings are in Baltimore County, Maryland?
The FRA inventory of lists 112 public railroad crossings in Baltimore County, Maryland.
- Public crossings
- 112
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 104
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 36%
- Most trains a day reported
- 98
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 33
- Gate share compared with the state
- 10 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 36% of these crossings.
- Gates4036%
- Flashing lights without reported gates3329%
- Signs without reported gates or lights3128%
- Other or not reported87%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
School-bus routes
3 of 112 public crossings here are reported as on a school-bus route. 2 of those are reported as equipped with gates.
- On a school-bus route33% of public crossings
- Of those, equipped with gates267% of route crossings
The FRA inventory says for each crossing whether it is on a school-bus route. A crossing not reported as on a school-bus route may still be on one.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Old Hanover RdBaltimore750 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Byerly RoadHampstead450 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Arcadia RdHampstead780 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Georgia AveBaltimore200 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Ponca StreetBaltimore12,600 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Rappolla StreetBaltimore400 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Newgate AvenueBaltimore7,900 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Boston StreetBaltimore5,000 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Key Highway EastBaltimore9,000 vehicles a day2007 road count
- S Clinton StreetBaltimoreNo road count has been reported.
- Bernard StBaltimore Highlands1 vehicle a day2024 road count
- Cromwell St EBaltimore1 vehicle a day2026 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Baltimore County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Maryland
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates