How many railroad crossings are in Cherokee County, Kansas?
The FRA inventory of lists 101 public railroad crossings in Cherokee County, Kansas.
- Public crossings
- 101
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 97
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 37%
- Most trains a day reported
- 17
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 2
- Gate share compared with the state
- 2 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 37% of these crossings.
- Gates3737%
- Flashing lights without reported gates11%
- Signs without reported gates or lights5958%
- Other or not reported44%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- SW 60th StreetColumbus72 vehicles a day2007 road count
- SE Lostine RoadGalena380 vehicles a day2010 road count
- NW 10th StreetRoseland71 vehicles a day2006 road count
- NW Liberty RoadRoseland37 vehicles a day2006 road count
- NW 20th StreetScammon202 vehicles a day2009 road count
- NW Chickadee LaneScammon10 vehicles a day2006 road count
- NW Coalfield RoadScammon40 vehicles a day2006 road count
- NW 30th RoadScammon25 vehicles a day2006 road count
- NW Star Valley RoadScammon50 vehicles a day2006 road count
- NW Belleview RoadColumbus72 vehicles a day2013 road count
- NW 40th RoadColumbus27 vehicles a day2006 road count
- NW Lawton RoadColumbus34 vehicles a day2006 road count
- NW Center Star RoadColumbus45 vehicles a day2013 road count
- NW 55th RoadColumbus3 vehicles a day2006 road count
- NW Bethleham RoadColumbus24 vehicles a day2006 road count
- NW Warbler LaneColumbus35 vehicles a day2007 road count
- US 160 HighwayColumbus2,300 vehicles a day2013 road count
- SW Hallowell RoadColumbus385 vehicles a day2000 road count
- SW 70th StreetColumbus84 vehicles a day2000 road count
- SW Wyandotte RoadColumbus49 vehicles a day2000 road count
- N Indiana AveColumbus1,135 vehicles a day2007 road count
- NW 63rd StreetColumbus237 vehicles a day2000 road count
- NW 65th StreetColumbus23 vehicles a day2000 road count
- NW 70th StreetColumbus63 vehicles a day2007 road count
- NW 82nd TerraceHallowell8 vehicles a day2007 road count
- SW 90th StreetHallowell350 vehicles a day2009 road count
- SW 92nd StreetHallowell29 vehicles a day2007 road count
- SW 92nd TerraceHallowell120 vehicles a day2007 road count
- SW 100th StreetHallowell11 vehicles a day2007 road count
- SW 110th StreetHallowell38 vehicles a day2007 road count
- SW Wyandotte RdHallowell11 vehicles a day2007 road count
- Sw120th StreetHallowell38 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Butterball County RoadColumbus200 vehicles a day2016 road count
- N Main StGalena2,725 vehicles a day2013 road count
- W Vine StreetGalena133 vehicles a day2000 road count
- SE Lostine RoadGalena355 vehicles a day2013 road count
- US Hwy 69Galena5,890 vehicles a day2013 road count
- SE 60th StGalena185 vehicles a day2007 road count
- Boston Mills RoadGalena245 vehicles a day2007 road count
- SE 45th StColumbus76 vehicles a day2007 road count
- SE 40th StColumbus115 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Clem RdColumbus845 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 3oth StColumbus66 vehicles a day2007 road count
- SE 20th StColumbus64 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Messer RoadColumbus63 vehicles a day2000 road count
- Southeast AveColumbus4,170 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Olive StColumbus225 vehicles a day2007 road count
- E 7th StreetGalena1,325 vehicles a day2007 road count
- US 66 HighwayGalena10,200 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Southeast 84th StreetGalena190 vehicles a day2010 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Cherokee County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Kansas
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates