How many railroad crossings are in Hardin County, Iowa?
The FRA inventory of lists 67 public railroad crossings in Hardin County, Iowa.
- Public crossings
- 67
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 67
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 27%
- Most trains a day reported
- 10
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 5
- Gate share compared with the state
- 3 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 27% of these crossings.
- Gates1827%
- Flashing lights without reported gates913%
- Signs without reported gates or lights4060%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- D AveAlden130 vehicles a day2009 road count
- Cc AveAlden15 vehicles a day2005 road count
- B AveAlden10 vehicles a day2005 road count
- Aa AveWilliams45 vehicles a day2005 road count
- Young AveWilliams30 vehicles a day2005 road count
- Oak StIowa Falls11,300 vehicles a day2018 road count
- South River StreetIowa Falls1,660 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Georgetown RoadIowa Falls1,050 vehicles a day2017 road count
- St Hwy 941Alden3,060 vehicles a day2017 road count
- 125th StreetAlden60 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Co Hwy S27Garden City260 vehicles a day2017 road count
- 10th AveAckley60 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Co Hwy D 15Ackley740 vehicles a day2017 road count
- 130th StAckley20 vehicles a day2013 road count
- V AveSteamboat Rock50 vehicles a day2017 road count
- 160th StSteamboat Rock50 vehicles a day2013 road count
- 170th StSteamboat Rock70 vehicles a day2013 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Hardin County? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Iowa
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates