How many railroad crossings are in Storm Lake, Iowa?

The FRA inventory of lists 23 public railroad crossings in Storm Lake, Iowa.

Public crossings
23
Public crossings with identified warning devices
20
Public crossings reported with gates
57%
Most trains a day reported
3
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
2
Gate share compared with the state
26 percentage points higher

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 1 in Storm Lake
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Storm Lake in the full map Members

Make a grant table of these crossings

Gates are reported at 57% of these crossings.

  • Gates1357%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates29%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights522%
  • Other or not reported313%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

Which crossings in Storm Lake, Iowa have the most trains?

  1. The crossing on 160th Ave reports 3 trains a day.
  2. The crossing on 158th Ave reports 3 trains a day.
  3. The crossing on 150th Ave reports 3 trains a day.
  4. The crossing on 140th Ave reports 3 trains a day.
  5. The crossing on 130th Ave reports 3 trains a day.

They are on 160th Ave, 158th Ave, 150th Ave, 140th Ave and 130th Ave. None of the 23 public crossings in Storm Lake, Iowa has a quiet-zone designation.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 1 of 1
  1. 160th AveStorm LakeID 307486GGates3 trains a day
    210 vehicles a day2007 road count
  2. 158th AveStorm LakeID 307487NFlashing lights3 trains a day
    60 vehicles a day2011 road count
  3. 150th AveStorm LakeID 307489CSigns only3 trains a day
    30 vehicles a day2011 road count
  4. 140th AveStorm LakeID 307490WSigns only3 trains a day
    40 vehicles a day2011 road count
  5. 130th AveStorm LakeID 307491DGates3 trains a day
    4,090 vehicles a day2024 road count
  6. GilbertStorm LakeID 307492KSigns only3 trains a day
    100 vehicles a day2003 road count
  7. 120th AveStorm LakeID 307494YFlashing lights3 trains a day
    1,330 vehicles a day2007 road count
  8. Hudson StStorm LakeID 307502NGates3 trains a day
    325 vehicles a day1975 road count
  9. Oneida StStorm LakeID 307503VGates3 trains a day
    1,390 vehicles a day2003 road count
  10. PedestrianStorm LakeID 307504COther or not reported3 trains a day
    No road count has been reported.
  11. Cayuga StStorm LakeID 307505JGates3 trains a day
    800 vehicles a day1975 road count
  12. Lake StStorm LakeID 307506RGates3 trains a day
    4,740 vehicles a day2007 road count
  13. Geneseo StreetStorm LakeID 307508EGates3 trains a day
    1,120 vehicles a day2007 road count
  14. Ontario StreetStorm LakeID 307510FGates3 trains a day
    490 vehicles a day2007 road count
  15. PedestrianStorm LakeID 307511MOther or not reported3 trains a day
    No road count has been reported.
  16. W 5th StStorm LakeID 307512UGates3 trains a day
    7,300 vehicles a day2003 road count
  17. PedestrianStorm LakeID 307513BOther or not reported3 trains a day
    1 vehicle a dayRoad count year not reported
  18. PedestrianStorm LakeID 307514HSigns only3 trains a day
    1 vehicle a dayRoad count year not reported
  19. Vestal StStorm LakeID 307515PGates3 trains a day
    1,250 vehicles a day2007 road count
  20. Barton StStorm LakeID 307516WGates3 trains a day
    570 vehicles a day2007 road count
  21. Northwestern DrStorm LakeID 307517DGates3 trains a day
    2,100 vehicles a day2007 road count
  22. 90th AveStorm LakeID 307518KGates3 trains a day
    2,560 vehicles a day2023 road count
  23. 80th AveStorm LakeID 307520LSigns only3 trains a day
    50 vehicles a day2011 road count

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates