How many railroad crossings are in Fort Atkinson, Iowa?
The FRA inventory of lists 6 public railroad crossings in Fort Atkinson, Iowa.
- Public crossings
- 6
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 6
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 50%
- Most trains a day reported
- 5
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 2
- Gate share compared with the state
- 20 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 50% of these crossings.
- Gates350%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights350%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Fort Atkinson, Iowa have the most trains?
- The crossing on 265th Ave - NW/C 9-96-9 reports 5 trains a day.
- The crossing on 1st St Ext reports 5 trains a day.
- The crossing on 10th Ave reports 5 trains a day.
- The crossing on 4th St NW reports 5 trains a day.
- The crossing on 85e80s NW/C 7-96- 280th Ave reports 5 trains a day.
They are on 265th Ave - NW/C 9-96-9, 1st St Ext, 10th Ave, 4th St NW and 85e80s NW/C 7-96- 280th Ave. None of the 6 public crossings in Fort Atkinson, Iowa has a quiet-zone designation.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- 265th Ave - NW/C 9-96-9Fort Atkinson460 vehicles a day2009 road count
- 1st St ExtFort Atkinson570 vehicles a day2005 road count
- 10th AveFort Atkinson220 vehicles a day2005 road count
- 4th St NWFort Atkinson840 vehicles a day2009 road count
- 85e80s NW/C 7-96- 280th AveFort Atkinson60 vehicles a day2001 road count
- 40s NW/C 13-96-10 295th AveFort Atkinson210 vehicles a day2009 road count
Crossings in Winneshiek County
Trains blocking a crossing in Fort Atkinson? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Iowa
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates