How many railroad crossings are in Terre Haute, Indiana?
The FRA inventory of lists 108 public railroad crossings in Terre Haute, Indiana.
- Public crossings
- 108
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 107
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 56%
- Most trains a day reported
- 39
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 33
- Gate share compared with the state
- 12 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 56% of these crossings.
- Gates6056%
- Flashing lights without reported gates1918%
- Signs without reported gates or lights2826%
- Other or not reported11%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Doberman LaneTerre Haute1,275 vehicles a day2018 road count
- 1st StTerre Haute5,163 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Steelton RdTerre Haute1,275 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Harlan DriveTerre Haute1,800 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Harlan DriveTerre Haute2,431 vehicles a day2016 road count
- Van Dycks StreetTerre Haute425 vehicles a day2017 road count
- Van Dycks StreetTerre Haute425 vehicles a day2017 road count
- Farmersburg StreetTerre Haute425 vehicles a day2017 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Terre Haute? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Indiana
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates