How many railroad crossings are in Vernon Hills, Illinois?

The FRA inventory of lists 7 public railroad crossings in Vernon Hills, Illinois.

Public crossings
7
Public crossings with identified warning devices
7
Public crossings reported with gates
71%
Most trains a day reported
21
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
0
Gate share compared with the state
17 percentage points higher

Where are these public crossings?

Browse the list
Crossings on page 1 in Vernon Hills
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Vernon Hills in the full map Members

Gates are reported at 71% of these crossings.

  • Gates571%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates229%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights00%
  • Other or not reported00%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

Which crossings in Vernon Hills, Illinois have the most trains?

  1. The crossing on US Route 45 reports 21 trains a day.
  2. The crossing on Butterfield Rd reports 21 trains a day.
  3. The crossing on Metra Platform reports 21 trains a day.
  4. The crossing on S Milwaukee Ave reports 2 trains a day.
  5. The crossing on Butterfield Rd reports 2 trains a day.

They are on US Route 45, Butterfield Rd, Metra Platform and S Milwaukee Ave. 6 of the 7 public crossings in Vernon Hills, Illinois have a quiet-zone designation.

Train quiet zones in Vernon Hills, Illinois

6 public crossings in Vernon Hills, Illinois have a quiet-zone designation.

  • The crossing on US Route 45 is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Wisconsin Central Ltd. as the reporting railroad.
  • The crossing on Butterfield Rd is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Wisconsin Central Ltd. as the reporting railroad.
  • The crossing on Metra Platform is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Wisconsin Central Ltd. as the reporting railroad.
  • The crossing on S Milwaukee Ave is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Wisconsin Central Ltd. as the reporting railroad.
  • The crossing on Butterfield Rd is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Wisconsin Central Ltd. as the reporting railroad.
  • The crossing on Lakeview Parkway is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Wisconsin Central Ltd. as the reporting railroad.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

How many trains pass each crossing?

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 1 of 1

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates