How many railroad crossings are in Kinmundy, Illinois?
The FRA inventory of lists 12 public railroad crossings in Kinmundy, Illinois.
- Public crossings
- 12
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 12
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 92%
- Most trains a day reported
- 12
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 0
- Gate share compared with the state
- 37 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 92% of these crossings.
- Gates1192%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights18%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Kinmundy, Illinois have the most trains?
- The crossing on Prairie Road reports 12 trains a day.
- The crossing on Williams Road reports 12 trains a day.
- The crossing on Armstrong Road reports 12 trains a day.
- The crossing on Edgar Rd reports 12 trains a day.
- The crossing on Kinlou Rd reports 12 trains a day.
They are on Prairie Road, Williams Road, Armstrong Road, Edgar Rd and Kinlou Rd. None of the 12 public crossings in Kinmundy, Illinois has a quiet-zone designation.
Railroad bridges over roads in this city
- UNION PACIFIC RR over FAS-2701 (ILL-37)
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 14 ft 4 in (4.39 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Clearance is the measured height recorded by the state in the National Bridge Inventory. The sign at the bridge can show a different figure.
Source: FHWA National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Crossings here named on grant lists
- Williams Road, crossing 167789C
Named in the Illinois Commerce Commission crossing program for fiscal year 2025. Work listed: Flashing Lights & Gates-Install; Approach-Reconstruct. Plan dated April 2023.
Source: Illinois Commerce Commission plan.
- Armstrong Road, crossing 167791D
Named in the Illinois Commerce Commission crossing program for fiscal year 2025. Work listed: Flashing Lights & Gates-Install. Plan dated April 2023.
Source: Illinois Commerce Commission plan.
- West 4th Street, crossing 167794Y
Named in the Illinois Commerce Commission crossing program for fiscal year 2025. Work listed: Gates-Install; Flashing Lights-Modify; Approaches-Reconstruct. Plan dated April 2023.
Source: Illinois Commerce Commission plan.
- Edgar Rd, crossing 295295J
Named in the Illinois Commerce Commission crossing program for fiscal year 2024. Work listed: Flashing Lights & Gates-Install; Approach-Reconstruct. Plan dated April 2023.
Source: Illinois Commerce Commission plan.
- Third, crossing 295297X
The Illinois Commerce Commission approved funding for work here in fiscal year 2023. Work listed: Remote Monitor-Install.
Source: Illinois Commerce Commission plan.
- Broom Road, crossing 295298E
The Illinois Commerce Commission approved funding for work here in fiscal year 2023. Work listed: Remote Monitor-Install.
Source: Illinois Commerce Commission plan.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Prairie RoadKinmundy25 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Williams RoadKinmundy50 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Armstrong RoadKinmundy25 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Edgar RdKinmundy25 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Kinlou RdKinmundy1,100 vehicles a day2022 road count
- ThirdKinmundy475 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Broom RoadKinmundy50 vehicles a day2022 road count
- West 4th StreetKinmundy325 vehicles a day2022 road count
- West Case StreetKinmundy100 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Gesell RoadKinmundy10 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Gentry RoadKinmundy50 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Shepherds LaneKinmundy25 vehicles a day2022 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Kinmundy? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Illinois
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates