How many railroad crossings are in Chicago, Illinois?
The FRA inventory of lists 303 public railroad crossings in Chicago, Illinois.
- Public crossings
- 303
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 267
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 67%
- Most trains a day reported
- 215
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 165
- Gate share compared with the state
- 12 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 67% of these crossings.
- Gates20267%
- Flashing lights without reported gates238%
- Signs without reported gates or lights4214%
- Other or not reported3612%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Train quiet zones in Chicago, Illinois
133 public crossings in Chicago, Illinois have a quiet-zone designation.
- The crossing on W 102nd Place has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on W 103rd Street has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on W 104th Street has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on W 105th Street has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on W 107th Street has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on W 111th Street has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on W Monterey Avenue has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 115th St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on W 95th Street has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 70th St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Dorchester Av has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 71st St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on S Dante Avenue has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Stony Island Ave has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Cornell Avenue has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on S East End Avenue has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Ridgeland Av has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Cregier Avenue has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Bennett Ave has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Euclid Ave has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on S Jeffery Avenue has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Chappel Av has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Clyde Av has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Merrill Av has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Paxton Av has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Crandon Av has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on Oglesby Av has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on S Yates Blvd has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 72nd Street has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 73rd St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 74th St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 75th St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 76th St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 77th St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 78th St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 79th St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 80th St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 80th Pl has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 81st St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on W 82nd St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 83rd St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 83rd Pl has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on 87th St has a Chicago-area horn exemption, with Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Rail Corp. -- Metra as the reporting railroad.
90 more are on other pages of the list below.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- W 102nd PlaceChicago200 vehicles a day2022 road count
- W 103rd StreetChicago10,250 vehicles a day2022 road count
- W 104th StreetChicago325 vehicles a day2022 road count
- W 105th StreetChicago400 vehicles a day2022 road count
- W 107th StreetChicago5,250 vehicles a day2022 road count
- W 111th StreetChicago10,000 vehicles a day2023 road count
- W Monterey AvenueChicago19,800 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 115th StChicago6,750 vehicles a day2022 road count
- W 119th StreetChicago18,500 vehicles a day2023 road count
- W 95th StreetChicago22,700 vehicles a day2023 road count
- W 97th StreetChicago575 vehicles a day2022 road count
- PedestrianChicago1 vehicle a day1983 road count
- PedestrianChicago1 vehicle a day1983 road count
- PedestrianChicago1 vehicle a dayRoad count year not reported
- PedestrianChicagoNo road count has been reported.
- S Archer AvenueChicago23,300 vehicles a day2022 road count
- E 70th StChicago1,300 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Dorchester AvChicago1,550 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 71st StChicago7,400 vehicles a day2022 road count
- S Dante AvenueChicago450 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Stony Island AveChicago31,900 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Cornell AvenueChicago1,150 vehicles a day2022 road count
- S East End AvenueChicago700 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Ridgeland AvChicago650 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Cregier AvenueChicago7,350 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Bennett AveChicago650 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Euclid AveChicago450 vehicles a day2018 road count
- S Jeffery AvenueChicago10,300 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Chappel AvChicago750 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Clyde AvChicago1,100 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Merrill AvChicago900 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Paxton AvChicago900 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Crandon AvChicago1,550 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Oglesby AvChicago1,100 vehicles a day2022 road count
- S Yates BlvdChicago23,500 vehicles a day2023 road count
- E 72nd StreetChicago1,750 vehicles a day2022 road count
- E 73rd StChicago4,250 vehicles a day2022 road count
- E 74th StChicago1,400 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 75th StChicago7,650 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 76th StChicago7,000 vehicles a day2022 road count
- E 77th StChicago550 vehicles a day2022 road count
- E 78th StChicago50 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 79th StChicago9,100 vehicles a day2022 road count
- E 80th StChicago450 vehicles a day2022 road count
- E 80th PlChicago75 vehicles a day2022 road count
- E 81st StChicago1,200 vehicles a day2022 road count
- W 82nd StChicago550 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 83rd StChicago6,200 vehicles a day2022 road count
- E 83rd PlChicago725 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 87th StChicago6,050 vehicles a day2023 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Chicago? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Illinois
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates